Abundant life, Encouragement, faith, Leadership, Love and Life of a Testimony, Made you smile, prayer, Salvation

Detox for the Body and Soul

detox with lemon juice I just started something new for the last two-weeks with this lemon drink.  I like it.  Can I tell any difference? Ummm unsure but I know it’s good for me.  Here is what I am doing:

Morning Drink: Lemon Cayenne Water

For the last two weeks I’ve been starting out every morning with a glass filled with water, lemon juice and cayenne pepper. It’s kind of like the master cleanse lemonade, but with no sweetener. When I drink it, I feel like I am cleansing myself with a dose of detoxifying goodness.

Lemon cayenne water is a great way to cleanse your body regularly even when you’re not “on a cleanse.”

Drinking spicy water may sound gross to you, but with the lemon, you’ll actually start loving it.  Now, I just add a pinch, and I love it.

Here’s why:

Lemon juice and cayenne pepper both have anti-fungal, immune boosting, and detoxification properties.

Lemon juice is great for digestion, destroying bacteria and cleansing the system –it supports the liver and kidneys to get rid of toxins.

Cayenne pepper increases metabolism, stimulates the circulatory system, aids digestionhelps regulate blood sugar and more.

Put them together and you have a very powerful cleansing drink!

My usual:

  • About 12 oz of water
  • Juice from 1/2 lemon
  • Pinch of cayenne (enough to feel the heat but not so spicy that it’s hard to get down)

So give it a try! It may become part of your new morning routine.

Now what about my soul?

detox for the soulThis got me thinking about my morning routine.  I need to study more to detox my soul.  I can read a scripture or ponder on a topic but then my morning can quickly go into checking Facebook  messages, twitters, email and before you know it I am boggled down with “stuff” totally weeding out my time with God.  I need to change.  It seems as though I can’t seem to find balance.  I need to exercise again since they tell me my cholesterol is a tad high.  Decisions, choices, work, children, and life.

Last week I had a group of ladies here at the house and we discussed the biggest issues women face.  One was balance.  The feeling words, were overwhelmed or stressed.

It’s time for a detox for everyone and I am not just talking about for the body but for the soul.  The Bible describes it as Renewing the Mind.  We must get ourselves to a place where we give God the time to meditate on His Love, His Word and His goodness.  Just like my new morning water routine, we need an immune upper from His Word.  We need a spiritual metabolism booster to keep us going.  We need an enemy destroying cleanse of the junk that penetrates our mind from the world’s words.  Now if you put them all together you have a powerful cleansing, detoxing, spiritual booster for the day!

This is my new morning routine and its much more than just a drink. 🙂

What is your morning detox?

 

3 thoughts on “Detox for the Body and Soul”

  1. Yes, Stephanie,
    I always eat breakfast. I eat a banana, or oats with a half of banana or sometype of fruit like blueberries or strawberries. I believe it is a healthy way to start your day! Breakfast is a must and it helped me boost my metabolism as I lost weight a couple of years ago. Be sure to check out my other blog on health http://www.thinkpinkgirl.wordpress.com

    Thanks for your question comment!

Leave a Reply

