Abundant life, Fear, God Speaks, Love and Life of a Testimony, Parenthood

Mamma’s Fan

mama's old fan in my roomAs I lay in bed at night with my box fan blowing straight on me I try not to let my thoughts tumble through my mind.  Sleep, somehow it escapes me until I tell my mind to rest.  I lay there thinking of the day and try to focus on wonderful memories to help me go to sleep.  I think how my mother in the middle of the summer time telling me to lay really still and you will feel the breeze of the fan from across the room.  She would also tell me that while we lay inside the tent on those hot summer days spent at the lake although I don’t think there was a breeze flowing through a tent, I still believed her.

noxema for sunburnsSunburned she put Noxzema all over us, with bugs on the floor and us laying on sleeping bags with the sound of crickets we fell asleep with peace knowing we could sleep beside our mom.  Dad sometime slept on a cot outside because he would always go fishing early. We would wake up with the smell of bacon cooking, fresh sliced tomatoes, gravy and biscuits from a skillet.

I think back then we didn’t have air condition but an old box fan in our room.  The noise and the comfort of home, aw put me to sleep.  I also remember laying in the back of the pick up truck on the way home from those long week ends coming from the lake.  We would put a sheet over us and let it blow and eventually fall asleep before we got back to home.

The noise of the fan or the air blowing, the feel of the breeze brings the comfort of my soul.  It makes me smile.

I realize I was blessed when I grew as a child with wonderful parents and a mother who cooked, cleaned and made sure we were comforted even with the nightmares, she always made us feel safe.

As I pondered on how God looks down on us, He wants us to feel the comfort of peace and safety too.  Just as an old box fan in the still of the night it brings a breeze of the Holy Spirit whispering “I love you and I will protect you”.  I pray as you rest your head down tonight, think upon the childhood memories of sweetness and what brought you peace as a child.  Remember, you are a child of God now and He will never leave you nor forsake you, listen for His still small voice to whisper even in the middle of the night.

2 thoughts on “Mamma’s Fan”

  1. It’s funny how you talk of the little things like a fan bringing memories etc. My beloved grandmother passed away just yesterday and I found my mind kept wandering back to her kitchen table. So much revolved around that table. I ate at it, yes, but many more times us kids would come in from playing outside and plunk ourselves down and just talk to grandma. She was all love and I will cherish those little things so much. Who would’ve thought a table could bring those thoughts and emotions back so strongly. Thank you for your wonderful blog.

Leave a Reply

