Abundant life, Encouragement, faith, God Speaks, Leadership, Love and Life of a Testimony, Patience, prayer, Salvation

God On Facebook

Poked by GodThere is something interesting about Facebook that can just consume people’s time.  I ponder if it is just the social interaction people were created to have, to establish relationships, to stay in contact with people and make new friends.  I loved hearing the responses to my friends on their answer of why they use Facebook when I posed the question “why use Facebook.”  For the most part it was for social reasons and to keep them connected with other people.  Some argue that Facebook should not be used to replace actually interaction with people literally but how can that be argued with a person who chooses to stay home and Facebook is their only outside source of social interaction?

Something that intrigued me is a poke button on Facebook.   This little procedure called “poke”.  This is where you can poke someone on your friend list, which they may or may not poke you back.  I did a little research on this and asked people “why” they poked their friends.  Sometimes it was just for fun, letting them know they were thinking of them, or they didn’t poke at all because they thought it to be flirtatious or rude, but the original meaning:

The poke feature is intended to be a poke gesture (similar to “nudge” in instant messaging) to attract the attention of another user.  A previous version of Facebook’s FAQ gave additional insight into the origin of the feature, stating: When we created the poke, we thought it would be cool to have a feature without any specific purpose. People interpret the poke in many different ways, and we encourage you to come up with your own meanings.

The other night God spoke to me with a little nudge.  It reminded me of the “poke” on Facebook.  I giggled knowing that sometimes we always have a way of letting other things come before Him. He is constantly and patiently waiting for us to notice Him.  I realize that I may go around the same mountain again and again before I learn something, Lord knows I want wisdom in my life.  How many times do we continue our own agenda, do what we want to do without giving time to Him?  How many times do we justify our good actions and intentions without including Him?  It is easy to get caught up in the social action of “getting busy” or “Facebook addiction”, but it is not the true meaning of life.  God can only fill the void that as humans crave for social interaction.  I have to watch myself to stay balanced in this area.  Of course I have God on my mind throughout the day, I know He is with me always and I am constantly thinking of Him.  I guess what I am really saying is that I need to set aside the morning time again to walk with only Him.  He has started again to awake me early.  He has poked me and is waiting for me to poke back.  He wants that relationship, that social interaction without all the white noise in the background.  He wants me to listen for His voice, see His messages, more than instant messages or blips on a screen.

Poke me GodAs I was reading this morning:  Be honest in your estimate of yourselves, measuring your value by how much faith God has given you.  Just as there are many parts to our bodies, so it is with Christ’s body.  We are all parts of it, and it takes every one of us to make it complete, for we have different work to do.  So we belong to each other and each needs all the others.  God has given each of us the ability to do certain things well.  …. Don’t just pretend you love others; really love them.  Hate what is wrong.  Stand on the side of the good.  Love each other with brotherly affection and take delight in honoring each other.  Never be lazy in your work but serve the Lord enthusiastically.  Be glad for all God is planning for you.  Be patient in trouble and prayerful always. Romans 12

What does God say?

I am here daughter, don’t be afraid, here my call for I will never leave you nor should you be anxious for nothing.  Trust in my plan and have faith in your destiny.  You must rely on me more and not on your own strength, talents or what you can give to others.  I made you that way, and I can give you what you need to do the work I have chosen for you.  I God who have made the trees, the animals, the waters, the deepest sea, the darkest night, I also have made you.  I have equipped you for the plan that is laid out for you to follow.  Do not get off the path, stand tall and walk.  Do not let others distract you as you are walking and trusting.  Keep your vision on me.  Keep your sight on me.  As a baby walks toward his mother for the first time, I am calling with my arms outstretched.  You are mine and I am yours, no one can take me away from you.  Just as a new mother stares at every detail at her child there is so much love, and more so I have for you.  I will help you must you must let me, not on your own strength but my strength.  Display my fruit of love, do not stray from me but stay focused on me, it is I who provides and not anyone else.  You are a tree planted by waters and you will flourish.  Run to me daughter like a daughter daddy moment and let me take care of it.  Do not fret or get upset when dealing with your siblings, you are good, please do not cause harm but pray for them, forgive them and encourage them.  I call out to them also this very same thing and yet they also get distracted. I love you with an enduring love, come and play with me.  Sit with me, talk to me and rest.  Let me consume you with my love to overflowing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

