Abundant life, Love and Life of a Testimony, Weird Stuff

The Rooster Has Horns

This past holiday, my family and I spent a few days in Gatlinburg Tennessee.  While in a mexican restaurant I saw a stuffed rooster on the wall.  However this rooster had strange horns coming out of its head.  I said something really stupid.  “Jeff is that rooster a mexican rooster?”  He looked at me with such a confused and smiling face, “You are really asking me this question and are you serious?”  Then we burst out laughing together.  Although I didn’t think that a rooster could grow horns I said it without truly thinking.  I actually thought that this particular rooster was a Mexican rooster cause it had horns and it WAS in a Mexican Restaurant.

This made me think about Peter and the rooster story.  He denied Christ three times before the rooster crowed.  He actually said something without thinking in which caused a great turmoil in his spirit.  I believe this was the point of his true conversion.

As we start off the new year, let us think about the words we say.  Let us speak as Christ spoke.  Let us not deny who God created us to be.  Love Jesus, speak love and do as Jesus would do.

The next time you see a rooster with antlers….just don’t believe it but smile cause someone is being creative!

Happy New Year!

John 13:38 New International Version (©1984)
Then Jesus answered, “Will you really lay down your life for me? I tell you the truth, before the rooster crows, you will disown me three times!

Leave a Reply

