Abundant life, Love and Life of a Testimony, Weird Stuff

Making Others Laugh

One of my favorite things to do is play.  I love playing with children and chasing them.  When they run around the corner, I like to hide and jump out and scare them.  It is so funny to see their expression and fall in the floor laughing after I grab them.  As you can see, I can’t wait to have grandchildren.

When my children were little, I didn’t scare them.  I wanted my sleep at night and Lord forbid if I scared them into nightmares.  However, my cousin who had two children loved scaring them.  On one occasion she hid in the dark hallway ready to pounce out with a loud roar.  She heard someone coming and leaned out to scare her daughter.  It wasn’t what she expected and she herself screamed in terror.  Since it was dark, unknowingly, her daughter had placed on her head a furry coat.  She thought she had jumped out to scare some unknown dog or demon.  This made me laugh at her tactics but it didn’t stop her to keep on scaring people.

Another instance I love to tell, is when I worked at the clinic.  We were always pulling tricks on one another.  Another nurse who only worked part-time ran ahead of us in the stairwell.  She was hiding and was waiting for the right time to jump out with a loud “gottcha”.  How embarrassed she was when the people she jumped out in front of were complete strangers.  I had decided to take the elevator that day instead of the stairwell.  She decided then it wasn’t for her to scare people.

When I was little, my brother and I had watched a horror film about a little voodoo man coming alive.  This little man-made this noise of a chant.  I used to scare Ronnie with the chant when he was in his room playing.  It was so funny to see him run and jump on the bed or couch when he heard that noise in fear of what was on the floor.  I guess I was sort of mean sister.

I also love practical jokes.  Last summer I tied a rubber band around the spout at church on the kitchen sink.  I told several people I couldn’t get the faucet to work.  We all stood and watched them getting sprayed by water.  Funny for me, not funny for them with a wet shirt I might add.

If you want to know the countless things I like to do to make everyone laugh on our women’s road trips, you can ask them.  From calling asking “Do you need more towels” to secretly unlocking their door and pretending to be someone else was a roaring laugh to me!

God put this in me to make people laugh and to be happy.  When you get to know me, then you will see how I love to laugh and act silly.  My boys are the same.  God give us creative ability to enjoy life.  There is in each one of us a funny side.  God made us that way.  He wants us to enjoy life and I am sure He laughs at us at some of the things we do.  Having a sense of humor keeps us young and keeps us full of life.

Here is a short film that my son Jordan did several years ago.  (Don’t worry, the sound effects were added and no one was hurt)  This little Real vs Fake movie still makes me laugh!  Enjoy!

copy and paste this in your browser to see Jordan and his cookie fight!

Deuteronomy 12:7 New International Version (©1984)
There, in the presence of the LORD your God, you and your families shall eat and shall rejoice in everything you have put your hand to, because the LORD your God has blessed you.

Leave a Reply

