Abundant life, Weird Stuff

My Mouth Is Dry

Another cold day, slightly snowing and here I am taking this cold/flu medicine with a dry mouth because I am breathing through my mouth.  I am sitting at my kitchen table full of antihistamines trying to conquer this viral infection again. I don’t know if you have ever used the Neti Pot but it has its advantages.  It is kinda disgusting but it does however work cleaning out your sinus and I highly recommend one.  Inexpensive and you can get one at your local pharmacy.  It took me a little practice on how to use one but worth it.

My mouth being dry reminded me of a Scripture I read this morning when Jesus said, “Come to me and drink and you will never be thirsty again.”  How many people walk around trying to cure their dry mouth so to speak with everything under the sun and wait till the last to try Jesus?  How many people walk around thirsty and never know it because they are too busy?  Unlimited resources are at our fingertips yet we pass them by everyday never taking time to spend time with Jesus.  I catch myself not only feeling thirsty at times but somewhat satisfied when I know better and I know there is more if I seek Him.  Just like a viral infection, time consumes most of our day leaving little time to spend with the One who cures our thirst.  This morning I am reminded I am thirsty and He is the only One who has the water in which I need.  His Spirit is overflowing and refreshing, and it is the only way to cure my dry and thirsty soul.  The next time you find yourself reaching for a glass or bottle of water, remember Jesus wants to give you a drink where you will never suffer dry mouth again!

Prayer:  Lord, I praise you for giving me drink in which I will never thirst again.  Fill me up and overflowing to reach others.  In Jesus Name Amen!

John 4:14 New Living Translation (©2007)
But those who drink the water I give will never be thirsty again. It becomes a fresh, bubbling spring within them, giving them eternal life.

Leave a Reply

