Educational and Informative, Encouragement, faith, Leadership, Love and Life of a Testimony

First Things First

If you haven’t noticed lately I haven’t been posting everyday.  I have been on a first things first policy around the last few 6 weeks trying to discipline myself in a few areas.  We started at church the PromiseLand School of Ministry again for an 8 week course in the Supernatural on Tuesday nights so that has also added to my schedule.  We have had homework and I told myself I will get through this reading, writing and turning in my work on time.  I am proud to say that I finished all the homework a week early.  I also am reading and highlighting four books.  I have finished one!  My husband constantly says, “Leaders are readers”!  The holidays have also got me turned upside down in arranging for 9 people to stay here in the house during Thanksgiving.  I felt like I have cooked three meals a day and loaded the dishwasher 25 times in the last week, however I smile cause I love having family time.  Yesterday I put of the Christmas tree, so I will finish decorating it today just in time to have photo shoots this week.  As you can tell, I am busy but I put first things first in my life.  God, my husband, my family, ministry and church in that order.

I wanted to start on a daily basis to put first things first, because for the last year the first thing I would do is open up my computer and start checking my email, facebook, and this blog stats.  I would read a little passage as I would write my blog.  I could justify reading the Bible on a daily basis but to truly sit down just with God, read, and then listen, write in my journal was always toward the end or on the run after I did the rest.  After reading God’s Law of First Things, I realized upon rising early in the morning my first thing to do was open my Bible not my computer.  Simple little things like this you may think are irrelevant but I know that it truly changes the way your day goes.  My attitude is better, my patience has increased and I am learning to let others have their way.  I am learning a new kind of love!  I have always had love, but it seems like God is taking me to another level of love and this is what I have been praying for.  I am learning to live a stress free life one day at a time.  I constantly remind myself that thoughts about others will not create a stronghold in my mind or hold me captive.  I will not worry about what others think of us as God continues to bless us in all areas.

As for today, my life is richly blessed as God continues to give me revelations.

Here are a few quotes from the book by Mike Hayes, Senior Pastor of Covenant Church in Texas:

Only when the seed is sacrificed is it qualified to be multiplied. ( I must see my time as being sacrificed for Him first so that He can multiply my time for other things in my life)

When we put God first He is able to provide what he promised. ( I must always put God first everyday, not second on my agenda or at the end of the day, or at night but first!)

God required the first of everything and if it wasn’t the first, it did not even count as having been giving. (How much time has been wasted by putting Him off till later?)

Whatever is done with the first portion determines what happens to all the rest. (I have been determining my own portions of blessing instead of allowing God to be in control)

God’s law of first things is your insurance that God will rebuke the destroyer and break the curse over your life. ( I have been limiting God’s blessings!)

Galatians 3:9,14

New International Version (©1984) and New Living Translation (©2007)
So all who put their faith in Christ share the same blessing Abraham received because of his faith….He redeemed us in order that the blessing given to Abraham might come to the Gentiles through Christ Jesus, so that by faith we might receive the promise of the Spirit.

Romans 4:16  New International Version (©1984)
Therefore, the promise comes by faith, so that it may be by grace and may be guaranteed to all Abraham’s offspring–not only to those who are of the law but also to those who are of the faith of Abraham. He is the father of us all.

3 thoughts on “First Things First”

  1. Great word!! I am so proud of you getting so much done! You are a great blessing to so many people!! Love you!!

  2. Your are the wonder woman of the times! Amen and Amen… so much more productive when we put God first and not man:)

Leave a Reply

