Abundant life, faith

The Next Level

I am always wanting to learn more.  I want my faith to increase and my relationship with Jesus to grow.  So many times even though we all want this from our heart, we don’t do anything about it or we continue to put it off until someday and the someday is always tomorrow.  When I first got saved I was constantly digging in the Word to find out more, read more, get more treasures in which I could share with others.  I was always proactive and knew how to use the Word to fight against the enemy.  I used the Word to live by, to hide in my heart not to purposely sin.  Then as time went on, I already knew this and that but didn’t want to take the time to dig in and find even the smallest treasure.  Maybe it is just me but the seasons of life sometime seem draining instead of inspiring.  I never want God’s Word to be boring or not understanding.

I know to have my faith increased is ultimately determined on the Word and hearing it.  There are times I admit that I just “zone out” during preaching yet there are times where I never want to leave my seat grasping each word and letting it sink into my spirit.  I was looking at a few Scriptures this morning and wanted to point out something.  Mark 4:24 says “Consider carefully what you hear,” he continued. “With the measure you use, it will be measured to you–and even more. I thought about this and wondered how many seeds of faith have I just blew away and refused to allow them to plant deep within my spirit?  Do I have a teachable spirit?  Although we admit we don’t have the “know it all” attitude yet in our actions of putting off hearing the Word of God, going to worship, plugging in to a body of believers in service etc….tells the true story of the measure of what is given to us.  We want to blame others for our lives not reaping benefits of Christian living yet we ourselves don’t take time to measure what we are actually doing to ourselves. This made me think even the more so and take time to sit back and measure out what I have allowed myself to learn.  How is my faith level?  Can I believe God will and can do the miraculous?  If we are not taught it, there is no faith in it.  If we don’t look for it ourselves, we will not find it.  How big is your measuring cup?

In Luke 6:38 we often use this Scripture about money but if we look more closely in context it is talking about forgiving, judging and forgiving. Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.” The Scriptures right before that says:“Judge not, and you will not be judged; condemn not, and you will not be condemned; forgive, and you will be forgiven; Then afterward Jesus states: “Can a blind man lead a blind man? Will they not both fall into a pit? A disciple is not above his teacher, but everyone when he is fully trained will be like his teacher.

This points out for us to believe whatever we pour our lives into, that is what we are going to get!  If we speak negative, we get negative even the more!  If we judge, others will judge us even the more!  If we condemn others – others will judge us even more!  Whatever measure we put into our actions, then it will always return to us in the same measure and even the more so.

The next time I am in worship, listening to the preaching or just sitting here reading my Bible, I will put more effort into reading, listening and applying it to my life and I hope you will too.  It is the same measure and more principle and I know I want more.  More love, more faith, more of Jesus in my life! Amen

GOD’S WORD® Translation (©1995) Mark 4:24
He went on to say, “Pay attention to what you’re listening to! [Knowledge] will be measured out to you by the measure [of attention] you give. This is the way knowledge increases.

Prayer:  God I thank you as always for giving me more revelation of your word, for taking me to greater understanding and greater promises.  I love you so much for you alone are all things to me.  Continue to teach and train me, continue to show me the treasures of your word and let my light shine for others as I proclaim it with Holy Ghost boldness.  In Jesus Name.  Amen.

1 thought on “The Next Level”

Leave a Reply

