Educational and Informative, marriage enrichment

A Man’s Greatest Need

This week our ladies group is focusing on meeting our husband’s greatest need.  This need, is that men want to be admired and respected.  What happens in an affair, a woman will give respect and admire another woman’s husband in such a way he will be drawn to the other woman even if she is not as beautiful as his wife.  Men want to be admired and respected and they will sometimes confuse respect and love.  What happens in marriage so many times as a couple lives together for a while, the wife will neglect admiring her husband and take him for granted.  She might nag, try to change him and constantly try to “boss” him, cut him down or correct him in front of others, taking away every respect leaving him feel empty.

The homework for the woman this week was to start by making a list of attributes of what they liked about their husband.  It is a reminder to look at when they feel conflict with their husband.

Can you remember when you first actively pursued your husband or wife?  What drew you toward him or her?  Was it the smile, the sense of humor, the kindness, or the special little dance they did just for you?  Take time to reflect ways in which you can honor and complement your spouse on one of those attributes.  When you do this you are actively pursuing.  In turn they will be drawn to you more and will give you more love, more affection and more of what you want in return. Give to your husband the need to be respected, honor him and watch him love you more.

Prayer:  Lord thank you for giving me my husband, to have and to hold, for as wonderful as he is we compliment each other.  He is my love, my wonder man, my husband in which gives me and helps me be all that I can.

Proverbs 21:9 New Living Translation (©2007)
It’s better to live alone in the corner of an attic than with a quarrelsome wife in a lovely home.

3 thoughts on “A Man’s Greatest Need”

  1. If you know their love language, then you can just about guess what they think respecting them consist of. My hubby thinks I love him because I am his maid:( Help Dr. Phillips!

  2. Definitely Great advice! I learned from some study along time ago to respect my husband. I love him so much He makes me laugh everyday and yes he does have a special dance just for me!!!! that I love!!!lol

Leave a Reply

