Abundant life, faith, Leadership

The Power of Giving

Jesus spoke much about giving.  Giving is unfortunately sometimes hard to do when we by nature are a selfish human being.  We want it our way and on our time.  We determine who, what and where we want to give.  We determine how much and why and if it brings us something in return before we give.  However, by God’s influence and with Christian living, God wants us to give not only our time, love, money or things but give also as a gift of His love living in us.  If we refuse to give we are not feeding the Spiritual but the carnal nature of man.  Giving is a product of God living in us.

Last month I got a phone call by accident of someone I knew in our county.  She was crying, she was embarrassed and didn’t know this was my number.  She wasn’t asking for my help even after she found out it was me that she had called.  Her electric was going to be shut off that very day because she had failed to pay the electric bill and the help office had given her my number for some reason to call thinking maybe it was the churches number.  It was more than $300.  It wasn’t that her and her husband didn’t have the funds coming in but just that she hadn’t made the payment due to other expenses.  She now faced shut off.  I was quickened to tell her that I would just pay for it myself in which I did.  I don’t make much money with my photography and the money I had been saving was going on my own bills, however her situation was in my eyes more important than mine.  She was very grateful and I also asked her to come to church.  I didn’t question why she had let herself get in that situation or if she was going to pay me back.  The act of giving was not about the results of what I was getting out of it but the act of giving to her and her family.  I also am not saying this for a pat on my own back but trying to make a point of accepting the call of giving when the Holy Spirit quickens, giving even when we can’t afford to or just giving because Jesus wants us to.

God has been dealing with me on this for quite some time.  I should give more and then there is always the “but” word.  But God, “but, I don’t have time”, “but I don’t have it”, “but I don’t have it to give”, “but God I give all the time”.  The word excuses rings throughout our mind and in our ears even when we know the promises God has for us when we give.  Giving is not for us to do when and if or where, because the gift of giving is the action not the result of the giving.  Giving is done with a glad heart in knowing you have obeyed the voice of God and knowing the promises of being blessed.  It is not for us to think or decide or to determine the outcome of where we give or whom to.  Our giving should be based on our opinion or if we get returns from giving.  Of course I realize we don’t cast the pearls before the swine so to speak but we still give to that of promoting the Kingdom, to others to help, to bless others and never to benefit our own selves.  Does this make sense?

If God sent His Son to die for us, He gave the ultimate gift.  He gave regardless to whom, when, where or what the outcome.  He knew that some would misuse the gift or not respect the gift and He knew that some would be thankful and treasure the gift.  He did not question this giving.  He gave regardless of the outcome.  This gift Jesus was given to us so that we would also learn how to give, and to have in the end, eternal life as a result from this giving.

So today when God pricks your heart and ask you to give of something, don’t use the excuses “but”.  Stand firm and realize it is all in the heart of giving and in the end you will be blessed.

Prayer:  Lord quicken me with your Spirit when it comes to the homeless, the needy and the ones who need help.  Quicken me also in giving when I think before I act, I want immediate obedience and wisdom when it comes to your giving.  You have blessed me so that I can bless others.  I know others see you in me when I give from the heart.  In Jesus Name. Amen.

Deuteronomy 15:10 New International Version (©1984)
Give generously to him and do so without a grudging heart; then because of this the LORD your God will bless you in all your work and in everything you put your hand to.

New Living Translation (©2007) 2 Corinthians 9:7
You must each decide in your heart how much to give. And don’t give reluctantly or in response to pressure. “For God loves a person who gives cheerfully.”

Luke 6:38 New International Version (©1984)
Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”

Malachi 3:10 New Living Translation (©2007)
Bring all the tithes into the storehouse so there will be enough food in my Temple. If you do,” says the LORD of Heaven’s Armies, “I will open the windows of heaven for you. I will pour out a blessing so great you won’t have enough room to take it in! Try it! Put me to the test!

Leave a Reply

