Educational and Informative, Parenthood

Perception of God Started in Childhood

How do we see God?  How do we relate to the most High Supreme Creator?  Do you know that our presumptions about God often start with how we’ve viewed our parents as we were growing up.  In fact, studies have shown that a girl’s view of her mother and a boy’s view of his father are likely to have a direct effect on how they perceive God.

My father was the provider.  He worked, eat and slept and this was his lifestyle.  My mother was a home maker for most part and had various types of jobs as I got older.  They both provided the basic needs.  I saw my father as an authority figure, who had a temper so we didn’t dare cross his path.  My mother didn’t show much mercy when we made a mistake but for the most part, I felt loved and protected by both.  As I started a relationship with God on my own, I really never thought about how I perceived God.  However, after through studies I realized I seen God exactly the same way at first.  I saw God as authority but didn’t want to cross his path or make him mad.  I felt protected and knew he was always watching over me, I felt close to him.  As far as love goes, I knew the Bible says He loved me but I felt like he was more judging than loving so this took me a while to learn His attributes of mercy and grace.

Research shows that, with two parents present, girls possess both a strong maternal perception of God and a more moderate paternal God perception, while a boys identify God almost exclusively with masculine characteristics such as justice, fairness, power and moral laws.  Girls tend to maintain attributes of both power and nurturing, caring , empathizing and comforting in moral reasoning.  Through emotional involvement with his children, a father plays an indirect role in his child’s view of God as nurturer.  When fathers are absent, they are more likely to be idealized. With both parents it seems to be balanced out.

As parents we have a responsibility to make sure we cover all areas of a child’s physical and emotional needs.  We should be aware of that we are the very ones that determine how our children view God as they grow older and how they determine the relationship with Jesus.  We want our children to feel safe, loved and accepted as they are growing up.  When a child is missing out on certain important factors as they are growing up it has a direct influence on how they perceive God in their adult years.

Prayer:  Lord help us all provide for our children what you have instilled inside of us to pass on to our children.  Thank you for protecting, for loving, for providing and for giving.  Your love provides all the above!  I pray that others will see the real and true YOU!  In Jesus Name.  Amen.

Isaiah 46:4 New Living Translation (©2007)
I will be your God throughout your lifetime–until your hair is white with age. I made you, and I will care for you. I will carry you along and save you.

Isaiah 44:6 New American Standard Bible (©1995)
“Thus says the LORD, the King of Israel and his Redeemer, the LORD of hosts: ‘I am the first and I am the last, And there is no God besides Me.

2 thoughts on “Perception of God Started in Childhood”

  1. So interesting. I’ve known that parents especially fathers create a framework of character that we initially put onto God – I hadn’t thought much of how my mother impacted that perception. Thanks for the thought provoking post. My prayer is that we would all seek to know God as He is and not how our filters or anything of this society protrays Him. They are way off on many counts.

    Rachel

Leave a Reply

