Encouragement, Patience

Wanting Results Too Quickly

Well today was my first workout with Lyle and Jeff on the P90X and it was shoulders and arms.  We then did the 15 minute Abs workout afterwards.  Needless to say I didn’t have weights so I used a can of chilli and a can of tomatoes, hey don’t laugh it was better than nothing.   We had to really work on Jeff to keep him from his usual running routine.  After we finished I walked a mile and came home and drank carrot juice.  OK, now I want results from this strenuous workout!  Don’t we all?  We want immediate results in trying to change our lifestyle in a moment.  I have been counting calories these last two days needing to lose weight but knowing I need to be disciplined and getting back in shape again.  I really don’t want to weigh myself in fear of what I will see and get disappointed that the effort hasn’t worked, knowing it takes a few days when dealing with water retention.  Nevertheless, I want the body but don’t want to take the time to discipline myself to consistent exercise and eating right.  As of right now, I think I want a nap!

Many times we do the same thing to God in our walk.  We come into the church demanding answers to our prayers without waiting.  We want things and ask without wanting to be patient or without disciplining ourselves to get in position to receive.  God strengthens and refines us through our weakness and if he corrected and made us perfect, we would find out that we no longer would depend on Him.  Strength training or losing weight is a process, a journey with a result in mind.  So is living for God.  It is a process, a journey in which we discipline ourselves with righteous living.  Yes, we slip up every once in a while, we forget, we get lazy, we get selfish and we forget to pray, thus creating a mild set back.  However there is great reward in the end when we get back on track and wait for the results.  This is not a microwave world and results come through constant and persistent disciplines whatever we do. We must get in position to receive

Prayer:  Lord, I thank you that you are with me and you are helping me be conscious of my lifestyle, my eating habits and moving me to exercise.  I want to be fit in all areas of my life so that I will be able to work for your kingdom.  In Jesus name.  Amen.

I Timothy 6:12 New Living Translation (©2007)
Fight the good fight for the true faith. Hold tightly to the eternal life to which God has called you, which you have confessed so well before many witnesses.

1 thought on “Wanting Results Too Quickly”

  1. Thanks so much for the message! I just started blogging (yesterday in fact) and I am looking for blogs just like yours to connect with!

    Blessings,
    ~Debbie

Leave a Reply

