Abundant life, Educational and Informative, Encouragement, Leadership

First Things First

I always have things to do and I always want to put the things off till the last-minute and work under pressure.  It is almost I live for that moment but then I crash and stress myself out for no reason at all.  I could have planned and prepared.  Here is some simple rules I have learned when I need to tackle a project especially if you are a busy person:

Urgent things first. You’ve no doubt heard the saying: “The squeaky wheel gets the grease.” This shouldn’t always be the case in a lifestyle that is full of schedules.  You will probably encounter a lot of “squeaky wheels” in the form of complaints, requests or suggestions. Some will be valid and merit spending your time. But often, oiling the squeaky wheels isn’t the best use of time. Though it’s tempting, especially if you’re a people pleaser, you have to learn to discern which wheels really need grease, which ones can be greased by others and which ones will squeak no matter how much oil they have on them.This sometimes is hard for me because I don’t want anyone to be left out but I must determine if that person needs my time or just wanting to take my time.

Unpleasant or hard things first. Many of us are taught this concept when we’re young. It’s the “dinner before desert” mentality, and there can be some value in it. But just because something is hard doesn’t mean it should be at the top of your to-do list. Henry Kissinger once joked, “Next week there can’t be any crisis. My schedule is already full.” As a person who is always on the go, you have to constantly check your motives. Don’t just start in on the hard stuff before determining the value of your actions. If doing something easier is a better use of your time, then do that before you tackle the difficult tasks.  I am looking at my closet upstairs that needs to be cleaned out that Caitlin promised to help with but even she disappeared on that task.  I believe it might take two days to clean out and I have other important things to do first.

Unfinished things first. If you’re like most busy people, you work on a day-to-day schedule. Many times, your to-do list is left a little undone at the end of the day. If you have only completed eight of the ten items on your list, the tendency is to automatically place the remaining two items at the top of your list for the next day. But that’s not always the best use of your time. Chances are, if the two items you didn’t finish a day earlier were on bottom of your list, they weren’t top priorities in the first place. If finishing the task is still not a top priority, place it at the bottom of your list again, and work on it after you finish the more important items.

Unfulfilling or dull things first. If you subscribe to this notion, your tendency is to want to get boring things out-of-the-way so you can refocus on what’s really important. As a result, you spend time doing the dull, mindless things – like copying, faxing or reading emails first. But even though those things must be done, they are rarely the top priority. Don’t waste time “getting things out-of-the-way.” Instead, get a jump-start on completing your most important task first.

Ultimate or first things first. Do you naturally spend time on the most important things first? Whether you do them first or second or last, they eventually have to get done for you to succeed. Commit to give your best time – right now and in the future — to your most important tasks.

Although its admirable to be ambitious and hard-working, it’s more desirable to be smart working. The key to becoming a more efficient isn’t person or even a leader is checking off all the items on your to-do list each day. It’s in forming the habit of prioritizing your time so that you are accomplishing your most important goals in an efficient manner. When you’re able to do that, it won’t be long before you exceed your own expectations as a Christian leader, mom and wife.  I know I want to do my best and Jesus wants you to do your best also.

Prayer:  Lord, I know I have several things on my list that keeps getting on the list tomorrow.  Will you help me be efficient in getting them done.  Amen!

Philippians 4:13  New International Version (©1984)
I can do everything through him who gives me strength.

    2 thoughts on “First Things First”

    1. Hey Melissa where do you get all your pictures to go on your blog? Do you think they would load up on facebook? I have my group C&C for college and Career class and for some events I need a picture. Thanks Oh yea and I love your blog!!
      Robin

    Leave a Reply

    