Abundant life, Encouragement, Love and Life of a Testimony

Taking Medicine

Suppose to hear from my test today from the brain wave test last week.  Not that it would make any difference cause my doctor wants me to take this medicine.  I have only been taking it at night and yesterday it was time to incorporate it into day time also.  Not so good.  I walked around in a half daze just wanting to lay down and take a nap.  Around three yesterday, I decided to rest on the couch for a little while.  I was awakened by the phone two hours later.  I jumped up and couldn’t believe I had slept for two hours because I am a person who never gets to take a nap.  Maybe I needed the sleep and maybe I needed an energy drink or three cups of coffee to combat the lack of energy.  Now I sit here at my computer, knowing I need to take the medicine today and face a day of sleepiness again.  Thank goodness I don’t have appointment today or I might be falling out while taking pictures.  So I am faced with the dilemma to take my medicine.  A couple of years ago when I was on this medicine it was twice the dose I am taking now.  How did I do it?  I slept a lot and my body got use to it.  It made me slow down and not be so busy doing things.

My husband says I should exercise more and I know I should eat healthier at times.  Taking care of the body is so important as you get older.  If we continue to neglect our body then our future holds many other things including taking medicine along with Doctor visits, test and things that hinder our daily routine plus throw our family worries.  When I was in my twenties, I didn’t want to think about it.  I knew I should exercise because I wanted my 104 pound body back after having four children.  In my thirties, I knew I should exercise because it was important for the latter years, but time slipped away and dust collected on all the videos that promised a body in shape.  Now in my mid forties, it has become extremely important and I am thankful that I am not too far gone to get it right before it is too late.  My BMI is right on the border so I must do something.  Statistic proves that everyone gains ten pound every ten years and if you are over weight in your twenties and don’t eat or exercise then in your forties will equal doctor visits or feeling like poo all the time.  I want to be fit for the Kingdom’s work here, to be able to go where He wants me to go and do all the things God wants me to do without hinderance.

Today, I walk again, I will make myself and the next day and the next.  It is not too late.  I do not face this alone for as women who sit and stare at computers all day long have the same feeling and know the answer.  We need encouragement, and motivation to move.  I don’t want to take medicine today nor do I want to take it for the rest of my life.  Lord help me today!

Prayer:  Jesus you know our heart and how we all compare ourselves to all the tiny and in shape bodies in this world.  I just want to be healthy and not have to take this medicine.  I know by your stripes I am healed!  I just want to be healthy, be in shape and be able to do your work.  My heart must be healthy and then the rest of the body is healthy.   In Jesus Name. Amen

3 John 1:2 New Living Translation (©2007)
Dear friend, I hope all is well with you and that you are as healthy in body as you are strong in spirit.

Psalms 73:4 New International Version (©1984)
They have no struggles; their bodies are healthy and strong.

4 thoughts on “Taking Medicine”

  1. Melissa i know this is so hard for you. I am praying for you sister. But right now it might just be God telling your body to slow down and rest. I know how busy you are all the time and I want you to take care of yourself. You are an inspiration and role model for me. One foot in front of the other. Love you girl. 🙂

  2. Hello Melissa! Don’t you miss our baby girl?? lol I am praying for you. I have never been diagnosed but am sure I have fabramyalga (however you spell it.) During July and Aug it is always worse. I do not want to take any medicine, I am on thyroid med and some hormones but do not want anymore so I totally understand in a way where you are. Exercising, I am looking at a malibu pilates chair someone suggested it for a new exercise. I am bored with what I have been doing and the heat makes it harder on my legs so I am not walking. I know since we are the same age we need to build up our muscle because that will help our bones and muscles. Why I am telling you all this I do not know except when I read your blog my heart could hear a little frustration and I want you to know you are not alone and probably a little because I am frustrated right now.lol In Jesus name I pray for healing, insight, and desire.
    Brennen told me the other day she feels like she has known you for ever. She absolutely loves you guys. She said right before she left for her trip that she will miss you all. Blessings, Robin

  3. Thanks Robin! Glad we are in the boat together….I must lay down after walking my mile! lol

  4. Wonderfull! A few years ago I did so well exercising for quite a while, not so much any more.

Leave a Reply

