Abundant life, faith, Love and Life of a Testimony, Parenthood

Cool Mornings

I sit here at my kitchen table drinking coffee and eating a cinnamon bagel from Panera Bread covered with Strawberry cream cheese.  The house is quiet except for the washing machine I hear in the distance and the occasional bird chirp from outside.  It is cloudy with a chance of rain, and it is still and cooler than the last few days.  I enjoy the cool mornings, the quiet mornings and the time to focus on what God has for me today.  Our world is so fast paced many people in the business world do not get this opportunity for they rise in the morning, grab something to eat and out the door for an eight-hour shift.  Bryson is already gone to work and I am sure he is not feeling so well this morning. Do you ever get a fear hit when you hear your phone ring around midnight?  Last night he called to tell us that his friend backed into the Z.  Oh no, Jordan is going to be upset, cause he was really looking forward in coming back from a three-month trip to Africa to his car and four-wheeler.  Both damaged and its his birthday this week.  Not cool presents for sure and no cool birthday.  He already knows about his four-wheeler but maybe we can get his car fixed before he comes home in three weeks.

God has a plan for each one of us.  He already knows what choices we make and what is going to happen.  Even when we fail, He is patient and full of grace and mercy.  He loves these quiet time as today, everything still, everything will be ok.  It is cause trust, faith and believing in Him.  It doesn’t matter what has happened the night before or what is going to happen today if we are wrapped up in knowing He is always with us.  There will always be people who try to come against you, tell lies about you and those who don’t like or try to understand you.  I am a preacher’s wife and I live in a glass house.  My family is not perfect.  We live in a world of sickness and sin, it will always linger but not have power over us.  Nevertheless, we have Jesus and He ultimately has the last and final say so in all our lives, even on this cool morning.  I am thankful!

Prayer:  Believing Lord you have it all under control and thanking you for your grace, your mercy and your redeeming power.  It is all in your love and remaining to focus on you.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

Romans 8:5  New International Version (©1984)
Those who live according to the sinful nature have their minds set on what that nature desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires.

4 thoughts on “Cool Mornings”

  1. Melissa-I enjoy reading your posts when I get a chance. I like the relationship ones and parenthood. I am trying my best to have quiet time daily but life seems to get in the way or just plain laziness. Thank You for the encouragement.-Barbara

  2. OH NO!!! NOT THE Z!!!! So thankful for your relationship with our Jesus!! And Thank you for your inspiration to just enjoy HIM!

  3. It is a beautiful morning, even if it holds rain in store for us today. I walked outside for a few minutes this morning and enjoyed the cool weather. God is good and I so hold on to those times that I just get to soak in Him, before the kids are up and Jim is asking me 500 questions. I dont get enough of those minutes, so I treasure the ones I do get.

  4. Thank you Melissa! I appreciate your insight! May God continue to shine His face upon you.

Leave a Reply

