Abundant life, Encouragement, Leadership, Parenthood, Patience

Watching Coaches

Tuesday afternoon I had a photo shoot with a baseball team of 8-9 year olds.  I decided to stay throughout the game to shoot action shot pictures too.  It was only 98 degrees, so I hope I at least sweated five pounds off.  It was a real treat for me since it had been years ago that my boys were involved with baseball and the memories flooded back.  I remember how heartbroken the boys were when they lost a game and how the parents would get so involved with the game they actually became angry at the coach or umpire.  What impressed me the most were the coaches and the parents.  They were encouraging and showed a great passion for what they were doing. They loved on the children with those pats on the backside along with the high fives and encouraging words.  Never once did I see them get down because they were losing.  The pep talk after the game also impressed me.  They gathered around the coaches as he spoke about keeping your chin up and stating that it was just a game and to have fun.  The parents hugged their children and rewarded them with uplifting words and positive feed back.

We all need a coach in our life.  Someone who will encourage us, be an example, teach us, and lead us to victory.  If however defeat lies at the end of the day, the coach will once again teach, be patient and help us through the loss. If we take time to allow Jesus to be our coach everyday then at the end of the day, we will always have a smile on our face knowing we have a friend who loves us no matter what our performance may be.

Prayer:  Lord I thank you for leading me, teaching me and yes be patient with me and all my careless ways.  Help us be the example of you and teach others to love as you love.  Let us strive to please you, learn from our mistakes and go forward into our destiny with abundant living everyday.  In Jesus name. Amen

John 14:26  New International Version (©1984)
But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.

2 thoughts on “Watching Coaches”

  1. Thank you Melissa for the pictures on Tuesday. All the parents have expressed to me how gret you were and know all the pictures will be fabulous. It meant so much to me to have someone who is personally involved to take pictures of this great group of boys and coaches. They have truly touched my life this summer and am glad that we will all move up to Minor league together next year. Your story touched me, and imagine this I cried. These coaches are so encouraging to the boys and the parents. I can imagine that God would say some of the same things to me. That it is ok and as long as I have done my best, then i am ahead, no matter what the score for that day. The boys all come off the field smiling win or lose. I am glad that you could see this also. So i will try to come off the field at the end of the day and smile, because I did my best and God is my coach and tomorrow is a new day(game) and I take what I learned today and apply it to tomorrow. And He will give me a big hug or dance with me if I need it. I dont care who is looking. And yes these coaches will hug the boys and dance with them during the game, doesnt matte who is watching. 🙂 Love you bunches and am so glad that God put you in my life.

  2. If you only knew how many people look at you as their “Life Coach” – thank you for always doing all the things you do! God uses you in so many ways. Love ya!

Leave a Reply

