Abundant life, Encouragement, faith, Leadership, Sermon Notes

Just Walk

There is something about walking.  Once you get started it motivates you into doing more the next day and the next.  I know everyday the Lord prompts me to walk not only for health reasons but to exercise my body and rest with him in mind and spirit.  I usually listen to my Ipod and engage in worship, taking note of the creation that lies before me, feeling His breath blowing within me.  I hope that you too can feel what I feel by just taking a walk.  As babies our parents teach and encourage us to walk on our own, clapping and squealing with glee as we take our first steps.  Yes, there are times when we fall but we don’t stop or quit because set backs are only temporary, a lesson learned and then we stand again but this time hopefully smarter.

Walking is also spiritual and comparable.  Jesus tells us to walk in faith, walk in favor, walk in the light, walk in the Spirit, walk in the ways of the Lord,  walk in His paths, walk in truth, walk honest and walk humbly.  The list continues on and on throughout Scripture.  So the next time you think about taking a walk, just remember it is God’s word speaking to you compelling you to ‘just walk’ His way.

Prayer:  Lord I thank you for reminding me to walk daily for physical exercise but also for spiritual exercise.  I thank you for also helping me up when I am down and compelling me to walk again, you are such a great daddy!  I Love You…. Amen.

Deuteronomy 5:33  New American Standard Bible (©1995)
“You shall walk in all the way which the LORD your God has commanded you, that you may live and that it may be well with you, and that you may prolong your days in the land which you will possess.

Leave a Reply

