Abundant life, Encouragement, Leadership, Love and Life of a Testimony

Making A Mission Statement

Yesterday our family decided to drive up to St. Louis in honor of Jeff’s birthday.  We will go to the Arch and walk downtown and maybe go to the same science museum or see the art museum.  We don’t get to get away as a family very much because we are all so busy so this family two-day outing has already had its perks.   We really miss Jordan being with us but he is still in Africa.  On the three-hour drive up here, Lyle read us several chapters of this book.  It was about writing a mission statement for your life.  It says a twelve-year-old should understand your mission statement and it should be easy to remember such as a one liner.  He went on and described questions in which one should answer to try to determine your personal mission statement.  You do this by choosing someone who you look up to, admire or is a mentor.  This really made me think, as we were all serious however it became a funny story.

We all started blurting out who we admire.  Jeff spoke of a Pastor that we had been introduced to last summer, he knew who has multiple campuses, outreach and ministries touching the world. Lyle said Erwin McManus who wrote the book the Barbarian Way.  Spencer cracked us up and told us a story about the church he would pastor.  When he was around 8 years old he preached his first sermon, so he thought he was really “big”.  He had told the boys that he wanted a huge church with large speakers so he could play them really loud.  So loud that it would launch little old ladies into the air. The boys loved the idea but never had told us about this fantasy until now.  Now if you know Bryson, you can just imagine what came out of his mouth.  “I don’t want to be like anyone, just be me.  I want my soul to completely engulf my body and shoot out fireballs from my hands.”  Although he is twenty-two years old, he is serious.  We all laugh and know Bryson has to be the best of anyone or anything.  Now it came down to me and who I admired as far as ministry goes.  I like Beth Moore, Joyce Meyers and Jennifer Rothschild.  They wanted to know who Jennifer was and I told them she was a minister who was blind.  She speaks national and has written several books, featured on Dr. Phil and in several magazines. Lyle said, “Our family is definitely different when it comes to ministry, cause mom wants to be blind, Bryson want to start fires, Spencer wants to hurt little old ladies and me and dad seem to be the only sane ones.”   We can’t wait to hear what Jordan says.

Now I hope you are thinking to.  What is your purpose or mission statement in life?  What is your purpose, value and business?  Your mission statement should express your purpose that inspires, supports and has an ongoing commitment, motivate others to get connected, be convincing, free from jargon and easy to remember.

I summed mine up by going to http://www.franklincovey.com/msb/    Take time to see what yours is, below is the summary of mine.

I am at my best when organized and prepared.
I will try to prevent times when late and unmotivated.
I will enjoy my work by finding employment where I can Teach others how to live a better life, bring out the best in people, encourage others.
I will find enjoyment in my personal life through be creative in ministry, spend time with family, educate myself.
I will find opportunities to use my natural talents and gifts such as artistic, spontaneous, counselor, creative, speaker.
I can do anything I set my mind to. I will fill the needs of the homeless, abused and orphaned.
My life’s journey is to help others have abundant and fulfilled lives, to make heaven their destiny.
I will be a person who has close family and lifetime friends. Made a difference in the lives of many.
My most important future contribution to others will be servanthood and education.

I will stop procrastinating and start working on:

  • positive thinking
  • disciplined in all areas

I will strive to incorporate the following attributes into my life:

  • disciplined and consistent
  • real and honest
  • witty but outspoken in truth

I will constantly renew myself by focusing on the four dimensions of my life:

  • Exercise and healthy eating
  • Prayer and Reading/Relationship with God
  • Positive thinking, self-esteem boosters, encourager
  • Identity/positive and approachable, giving

Prayer:  Lord, Thank you for giving and reminding me of the things in which I need to work on in my life but also renew and celebrate my strengths!  You alone are the source of my success and I give you the glory!  Amen!

Deuteronomy 30: 19-20  New International Version (©1984)
This day I call heaven and earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live and that you may love the LORD your God, listen to his voice, and hold fast to him. For the LORD is your life, and he will give you many years…

2 thoughts on “Making A Mission Statement”

  1. Pingback: Foot Problems 101
  2. Oh my gosh, this cracked me up! LOL I love Jennifer too. But the way Lyle said that is so funny! I have been thinking and reading about this very thing. I know, over the last 2 years, I have been pulled in so many directions…all good ones…that I have felt confused about what I am really trying to do. A mission statement is a must…

Leave a Reply

