Abundant life, Encouragement, Leadership, Love and Life of a Testimony, Soul Winning

Small Acts Of Kindness

Yesterday I was out eating in a restaurant with the family and had to use the restroom.  The first stall I went to didn’t have any toilet paper in it so I was thankful I looked down and noticed it before my used the bathroom.  I went into the next stall.  Then as I heard someone come in and go into the previous stall that I had just came out of, I said, “Excuse me, but I just wanted to tell you there is no paper in that stall.”  The lady kindly replied a big thank you and was awed that I would tell her when I didn’t have to.  As I was washing my hands and she came out, she was an elderly woman and she just stood there and stared at me with a smile.  Have you ever had that moment when you think you have seen a person before?  Anyway, she said again, “That was so nice of you to tell me not to use that stall.  No one else has ever did that and been so considerate to me before.”  I replied with a thank you and went on my way thinking it was such a small thing but she seemed to be just astounded of my action.  A simple act of kindness that I thought was just a little of nothing meant a great deal to this lady as it had never happened to her before.  She was smiling and I think I made her day for what it was worth.

Many times throughout the day, God puts someone in our path as an opportunity to be kind with just a small simple act.  Mine yesterday was the bathroom experience, holding the door open for someone, and providing a snack for my hostess at a meeting.  Acts of kindness should come natural and not have to be thought out but just taking time out to do it.  It is living out with what you have on the inside of you.

A few weeks ago, I was on my way to pick up Roxie from being groomed.  On the way was a pregnant young girl stopped in the lane with a flat tire.  The area had no phone reception and I could have just passed her by but instead I stopped to see if I could help.  The tire was completely shredded and she was on her rim so she was going no where.  Ditches and guard rails on both sides, dangerous curve ahead she was definitely stuck in the road.  I calmed her down as she was spitting out a few curse words, stating she was on the way to the doctor, it wasn’t her truck and she had no money.  After several people passed by and thirty minutes of walking around waiting for the wave of a signal, I was able to call a wrecker for her to take her to the tire center up down which was only three miles up the road and I paid with a check.  The girls grandmother shows up to drive her home thanking me and telling me that she would pay me back.  I stated that there was no need for it was a gift.    Needless to say, I then didn’t have time to go get my dog because I had a photo appointment waiting on me back at the house.  The point of this story is, I could have went on my merry way, passed her up and kept my money and time, however God put her in my path knowing she would need help and that a small act of kindness would actually be a blessing to me.

So today as you go on your merry way, there will be opportunities for you to show Jesus in you.  Sometimes they are directly in your path and you must go out of your way costing you time and money or they could be simple acts of just information, kind words or a hug.  Let Jesus shine within you to others.  It is all about others and all about love.  So at least smile today so everyone you meet will be blessed!

Prayer:  Lord I thank you for the divine appointments you give me daily to touch others.  I just pray that I will continue to recognize those small tasks you give us to complete to bless others in turn you bless us.  In Jesus Name.  Amen

Matthew 25:40 New International Version (©1984)
“The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’

1 thought on “Small Acts Of Kindness”

  1. that was so good. i know someone who needed to read this last week! thanks for being a blessing!

Leave a Reply

