Abundant life, Encouragement, faith, Leadership, Parenthood, Salvation

Preparing to Leave

These last few days I have not focused on my blog as much since I have been working on pictures, church things and helping Jordan get all of his things together for Africa.  He leaves in one week for mission school for the summer.  Yes, I am the mom who has a check list making sure we have taken care of all the paperwork, emails and supplies.  Getting prepared to leave, whether if it is for vacation, school or moving is quite stressful and task oriented.  We still have to get some papers notarized and the usual camping gear for outreach.  This time in two weeks from now, the comfort of his bed, the luxuries of good southern cooking will be a long time off.  Rice and beans will become his meal for the most part.  Up early and of course he has to wear his protection boot for another two weeks while there since he injured his broken foot again.  We had already planned that if he had to have another cast put on two days ago, then he would wait till fall school.  I think he is excited about going and it will pull out of him the maturity level that lies within him.  Jordan, the middle child has depended upon us and his brothers many times to lead him and this summer he will be the adventurer himself.  The cost to go is much, but the outcome will result in a spiritual level in which he will grow.

I have had many women ask me as a mom, how do you handle your boys leaving to go to another country for so long.  Yes, it is emotionally draining but I prepare myself and continue to stay focused on what God has called me to do and be, without doubting or faith wavering for their protection.  I remember two years ago, Jeff and I were in Israel, Lyle and Bryson were in Africa and the other two boys were here in the states.  Instead of feeling overwhelmed about our family being so far apart all I could think about was how blessed I was for God allowing us to travel, take care of us and how God was so awesome.  The world didn’t seem so big compared to His World that we all experience.  His World is full of love, compassion, peace and mercy.  His World is for the eternal and not the present.  Although we live in the present, we walk in His World.

The next time you pack and prepare to leave your natural surroundings, you will feel overwhelmed at times as you check off your list and travel outside your comfort zone but as you do realize the world is a much bigger place and God has it all under control.  We are in His hands, molded by His touch and blessed by His breath of life.  Just as we have the check list in the natural as we prepare to leave, we should also take not of the check list and prepare to leave for the eternal life.  If we prepare early in life, we can walk in His World daily if we don’t we face just the opposite living in this world.  Prepare to leave this world behind is not so hard when you have walked in His world.  Every decision we make and every word that is spoken is accounted for and should be the treasure of heaven.  My check list started many years ago with asking forgiveness of my sins, turning away not to repeat them again, asking Jesus to be Lord of my life, getting baptized in Jesus name, being filled with the power of the Holy Spirit, operating in the gifts, producing fruit of the spirit and walking daily in this world but not of the world.  My heart belongs to His World and there is no greater love or peace of mind that can replace that, as I prepare to leave.

Prayer:  Lord, I pray that we all realize how you have a plan before us, the choices you give us, the desire you have for us is to live in Your World.  Times and seasons may bring us down only for a bit which makes us depend upon you more and realize that we needed to prepare even the more.  Thank you for your blessings, your love and your peace you give us daily.  In Jesus name.  Amen.

John 14:2 New International Version (©1984)
In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to
prepare a place for you.

My husband has always said, “It is not the most talented that wins the game but the one who is most prepared”.

Leave a Reply

