Abundant life, Leadership, Salvation

If You Love Me…

Many times in relationships we use the words “If you love me, you would….” and this form of expression is to get what we want.  However, we shouldn’t abuse the term for selfish reasons.  Loving someone shows actions of win-win situations and if one person is benefiting more than the other than love is not in the picture.  This happens in out teen years when pressured to go beyond your moral principles or when some type of abuse is found in the home.  However, if our motive is pure when we say these words, the results bring blessing upon the hearer and the speaker.

In Matthew 14 Jesus speaks of Agape love, true love where everyone benefits.  The blessings are….

  • There is no trouble with our heart
  • He has a plan
  • He never leaves us
  • He has a future for us eternally
  • He is the way, truth and life
  • Greater works we can do
  • Prayers answered asking in His name
  • Sends us the comforter
  • He lives with us and in us
  • We have peace
  • We have a helper
  • We have a teacher
  • We will not be afraid

All these come by these simple words… “If you love me, keep my commandments”.  This is the only requirement.  The action must prove you love him. Immediately after faith in believing Jesus exhorts to love and good works since obedience is the fruit of love.  We must not simply just believe but hold true to what God is saying.  Actions speak louder than words and we must do what is right through every situation and circumstance.  My husband is always saying, “Just do what is right”, then everything will work out, less heart ache, less trouble and no one gets hurt in the process.

Prayer:  Lord, today I pray I will show that I love you through my thoughts, my words and actions.  Help me to be a light, an example of your love working on the inside of me.  In Jesus name.  Amen.

English Standard Version (©2001) John 14:15, 23
“If you love me, you will keep my commandments. New International Version (©1984)
Jesus replied, “If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching. My Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.

Leave a Reply

