Encouragement, Leadership, Love and Life of a Testimony, Soul Winning

Pain In The Neck

I hate waking up with a painful stiff neck where I slept wrong on my pillow.  You can’t turn one way without bringing your shoulder up and holding your breath.  I guess it is two Advil tablets for me this morning.  I think the term ‘pain in the neck’ is quite comical and we seem to use it loosely when we are talking about someone getting on our last nerves.  It is defined by someone always disturbing you, annoying or crude.

Although I seem to make friends easily, I have run into people from time to time that is annoying and a pain in the neck.  I call them bossy, selfish and manipulators.  Most of the time I excuse myself from point of topic when they try to hold a conversation with me.  This way, I am being nice but don’t take time to get vomited on with negativity nor do I get trapped in their scenarios of chaotic life.  Don’t get me wrong, I do listen to people when they have situations where they may need my advice but I don’t waste my time standing there agreeing with them when I know they will turn around and continue the same lifestyle without changing a thing in their life to make it better.

Sometimes we tell our loved ones that they are just being a pain in the neck.  How do we solve this problem?  When you really can’t walk away from someone you love who is being a pain in the neck, then ask yourself why they act like that.  Is it because they don’t have a relationship with God?  Is it because they are disgruntled and unhappy with life?  Is it because you are being a pain to them?  The list could go on, but the real important issue is if you live with a pain in the neck, you must go beyond ignoring the fact and help them.  I didn’t say try to change them but change their circumstances around them to try to bring obstacle lessons to the front.  It is not you are caving in to their every need, walking on eggshells but encouraging them to change by example with your attitude and your willingness to see things through with commitment and compassion.  This is no easy task when dealing with people who refuse to change and they continue to be a pain in the neck.  However, there are ways to find out what makes them happy.  Whether it is their personality trait  or love language, find out what makes them feel loved and then do it.  When you know how to please the person you love and do it, it is like taking two Advil to cover the pain until the source is healed.  There is hope and healing for the pain in the neck.

Prayer:  Lord, touch my neck today and take away this pain and stiffness, I claim healing today not only for my neck but for all the relationships who read this blog today.  In Jesus Name.  Amen.

New International Version (©1984) Isaiah 53:5
But he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was upon him, and by his wounds we are healed.

Leave a Reply

