Abundant life, Encouragement, faith, Leadership, Love and Life of a Testimony

Sticky Traps

Last night we were at the store and for some reason one of the workers there started talking about fly paper.  He started out complaining about the coke rack and made a remark about how it slanted.  Not a good idea for 2 liters.  He was insisting how ridiculous inventions can be.  He then told us about his fly paper experience.  He stated whoever invented this sticky strip of paper thought it would be a great way to attract and capture flies didn’t think about other outcomes.  He stated how dumb it was to hang the disgusting thing from up above or how bad it was to back up into one.  “Can’t get that glue out of your hair!” he laughed and so did we, cause he didn’t have much hair to begin with.  So, I twittered the tip: Don’t back into fly paper.

I came home and thought about how Satan loves to throw out those sticky traps for us.  As we continue to grow closer to God, most of the times we can see them dangling right in front of our eyes and walk away from them.  They are visible and they are gross.  It is when we lose our focus on paying attention to our surroundings or forget to put on our armor of God when we find ourselves backed up into a gooey mess.  A traps purpose is to capture with no possible way of escape.  Like an insect caught in the trap of a web, the slave rarely escapes.  Every mess we seem to get ourselves in, the enemy wants us to think there is no escape and there is no way for freedom, leaving with us guilt, hopelessness and despair.  He tricks us to give up and think death is the only rescue.

I have seen Jesus set people free from addictions, compulsions, depression, anxiety disorders, health problems and diseases.  There is no trap that can hold us when we call upon the One who has all power in heaven and in earth!  Our church is filled with people who have been in traps, my family included. We might have a gooey mess all over us when we come out, but there is nothing the Lord will not wash away.  If you have found yourself ensnared by the enemy and tangled in the web of despair, just hang on, call upon the Almighty cause freedom is coming your way!  Summer is coming, fly paper will be hanging so don’t back up but keep moving forward, spiritually speaking.

Prayer:  Lord, I don’t want to find myself into messes or traps, I hate that!  Keep the traps visible to my eyes, keep my focus on doing and working for you.  Keep my mind free from traps, renewing it daily to give me a fresh perspective to see as you see others.  Use my hands, my words to touch others and help them escape the traps of life, giving hope, showing love and know your freedom.  In Jesus name.  Amen.

Psalms 25:15  New Living Translation (©2007)
My eyes are always on the LORD, for he rescues me from the traps of my enemies.

Psalms 119:60 I will hurry, without delay, to obey your commands. Evil people try to ensnare me into sin, but I am firmly anchored to your instructions.

2 thoughts on “Sticky Traps”

  1. Melissa that’s the thing I love about our church. The people that go there have lived life hard and done alot of things that maybe are not so good but they feel Gods love! They know what Jesus as done in their lives.

Leave a Reply

