Abundant life, Encouragement, Love and Life of a Testimony, marriage enrichment, Parenthood

Never A Bad Hair Day – Part One

Today is a new day for everyone.  I am not a morning person.  My hair is crazy, I have black under my eyes and I wonder around the house with unmatched pajamas.  Even when the sun is shining, I still complain and say, “It hurts my eyes”.  I have astigmatism and the morning light is not so nice on my eyes.  I also have to reach for the cup of coffee and take time to wake up.  I don’t like to talk or look in the mirror.  My husband on the other hand, bounces out of bed, whistling a tune and makes up the bed.  There is a sigh of relief that my husband takes time to help me with acts of service but on the other hand, the whistling and the chipper mood makes my head want to explode sometime.  No, really I am thankful he is so positive, upbeat and excited about the new day.  He usually comes in the kitchen wanting to aggravate us in some form or another and smiling the mischievousness grin.  He has his day mapped out and usually wants to know my plans.  How can I know what I am going to do with my head looking like a tornado?

Every morning we all plan our day or at least sort of know what is going to happen.  We can all look forward to the future or we can look back at the past.  Many times our entire day and how it goes depends on us believing if today is a new day and if it will be a good one or not.  So many times we let outside influences determine the day we are going to have.  If we wake up and have a bad hair day or if something breaks down or if one of the little ones get sick then we automatically think the rest of the day will be horrible too.  What we have to change is the mindset of what we are accustomed to. Just because the morning may have a few bumps doesn’t mean the rest of the day will be bad.  Just because we made a mistake yesterday or in our past doesn’t mean our future will be always reaping what we wish we wouldn’t have done.

Here is a list of things I do to start off the day right. Get enough sleep and if you need help, I know the answer and for me is taking Benadryl.   It is difficult to have a great day when you are tired and edgy. We often under-estimate how much sleep we really require but most of us need about eight hours.  If you have little ones still getting up through the night, a nap is perfect for the early afternoon.  Although I don’t often get to take a nap, sometime my body just craves a quick rest to help me feel better for the evening.  However, when I take those naps it leaves me still awake till almost midnight.   Another tip is to begin your morning with good thoughts. Instead of reviewing your list of “to-dos”, as you get out of bed, try filling your first thoughts of the day with some positive thoughts and remind yourself of five things for which you are grateful, read your devotion and say a prayer.  Don’t forget, you can also read MelissaMonAmie!  Every  morning as soon as I wake up, I tell myself, “Today is going to be a great day, what Lord do you want me to do today?”   I don’t ever want to get out of the bed on the wrong side.   Another tip I try to practice is take a few deep breaths.  Deep breathing helps get the toxins out, give energy and is a form of stress relief.   Start slowly as you fill your lungs with oxygen expand your diaphragm, hold it for a few seconds and breath out.   My husband is always telling me to work out and I know that it is something I should work on but for some of us, me for instance are not so structured or discipline to make it a habit.  However, I have found when I do take time to take a short walk sometime in the morning hours, it is very helpful with gaining my thoughts to positive and again relieve stress.   I do also make it a lifestyle habit of having a healthy breakfast. Breakfast does not have to be elaborate but you will feel better throughout the day if you eat something healthy in the morning. A piece of fruit, some complex carbohydrates such as whole grain, and a little protein (almonds or yogurt), will do the trick!  My favorite is yogurt, or a small bowl of regular oatmeal, fresh blueberries and a little bit of honey.

It takes me a while to wake up and I have found it easier to face the day if I don’t make any major decisions early in the morning before doing all of these things.  If I don’t have a routine, then I get sidetracked.  I can start my day off right, get side tracked and finish the blog up in the afternoon.  That is something I don’t want to get started.  Discipline is a must and I am conquering one at a time.  Give yourself a break from routine.  Some days, I like to stay in my sweats or pajamas and just do nothing except read or watch a movie, however I wouldn’t recommend this on a daily basis but every now and then doesn’t hurt.  As I get older, those days tend to come more often.  My mother has a few words to say about mornings too.  She says to get dressed right away because you never know what is going to happen or who is going to stop by.  For some reason I still don’t listen to positive advice from her and insist on doing it my way.  We all need to learn from our mothers but as daughters and yes the child in us wants to defile wisdom sometimes.

Today is a new day, tomorrow is a new day and the day after that is a new day.  I can determine each day to face it with faith, hope and a positive outlook no matter what my hair tends to do or what others think of me.  I will wake up tomorrow and be happy and thankful for another chance to make a difference in this world.

Prayer:  Lord, I know I am not perfect, just forgiven and set free from a life of worry and sorrow.  I thank you for giving me mercy, grace and your heart to reach others.  In Jesus name.  Amen.

Matthew 6:11  New International Version (©1984)
Give us today our daily bread….

1 thought on “Never A Bad Hair Day – Part One”

  1. wow… such a wonderful post…
    outstanding balance of lines and words….
    Learnt a lot from you….

    visit mine… & plz plz plz post your comments….

    Thank you…

    I’ll be in touch…

Leave a Reply

