Abundant life, Encouragement, Leadership, Patience, prayer

Carry the Weight

I often find myself without even realizing it, my shoulders tense and stiff.  When I catch myself doing this, I have to tell myself to relax.  It is like packing a large back pack around my back and on my shoulders filled with brick.  If I do not notice this tension it seems by the end of the day either I have a headache, backache or knots in between my shoulder blades.  Why do we continue to walk around daily trying to carry the weight of the world on our shoulders I do not know.  I think sometimes when we are so busy with life itself we don’t even realize we carry stress, our troubles, fears, worries or in general life itself.

Everyday, some days easier than others, living as a Christian can be challenging.  Not in a bad way to live out what you believe but relying on Him instead of your own strength.  I find myself tired and stressed if I haven’t taken time to rest in Him.  When I find myself being irritated with people or if my patience is thin then I know I am not taking time to seek the heart of Jesus. When I see people who seem short with their words or actions, I know there is something going on behind closed doors in their life and they haven’t spent time with Jesus like they should.   Scripture tell us grace reaches to us, along with everlasting mercy for our weakness.  We all know we are powerless to save ourselves but through our weakness it can restore our relationship with God by learning to depend on Him to carry our weight.  As Christians we are most at risk when we seek to live and serve in our own strength.  What is the weakness?  It could be physical, emotional or anything that enables the power of God to work in our lives. We all are guilty of this even when we don’t realize it.  We blame it on moods or bad hair days.  Call it what you will but it really boils down to not spending enough time with our Savior.

Being a Christian and trying to carry all the weight ourselves we sometimes forget who and where the source lies.  It is only when we acknowledge Jesus when creativity starts to flow.  Learning to cultivate a dependence upon God will mean far greater resources are available to us other than our own.  Life should be based upon God’s strength, not ours.  We at times seem to organize Jesus right out of the church and our lives.  Our expertise, plans, schedules and things we thing are so important can be put first instead of what Jesus truly wants on a daily basis.  We suffer when forget to acknowledge where are strength comes from on a daily basis thus creating weakness in which mine is the dreaded backpack full of brick.

If we live a life of prayer and meditation then we know where are rest comes from, where are strength comes from and when suffering comes to us in any dimension we are able to acknowledge it as a positive experience.  We will know God’s presence and be covered by his power.  Sometimes it is only when we get down do we realize this.  If you are like me, I don’t like being down but I enjoy being on the mountain.  However it is those valley experiences that open our eyes showing us how desperately we need him on a daily basis.  We all will have weakness in our lives, however when we are weak it brings with it a oppurtunity for God to work in our lives.  In God’s world, it takes the weak, scarred and scared, struggling, failing and ineffective people to accomplish his work.  God chooses to build his kingdom with all of us, not merely in spite of our ordinariness and helplessness and disqualifying infirmities but because of them.  Our human weakness, not human strength and confidence is what God wants out of all of us.  This strength is available to all people just like me who try to carry it all.

Psalms 68:19 Praise be to the Lord, to God our Savior, who daily bears our burdens. Selah

Isaiah 40:28  Do you not know? Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom.He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall;but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength.

Psalm 69:29-30 But by thy saving power, 0 God, lift me high above my pain and my distress, then will I praise God’s name in song and glorify him with thanksgiving.

Psalm 73:26 My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever…

2 Corinthians 12:7-9I was given a painful physical ailment… Three times I prayed to the Lord about this and asked him to take it away. But his answer was: ‘My grace is all you need, for my power is strongest when you are weak.’ I am most happy, then, to be proud of my weaknesses, in order to feel the protection of God’s power over me.

Prayer:  Lord, I get very weary when I try to carry it all upon myself, but then it is when I know I need to turn it all over to you.  I know you are the one who is designed to carry my weight for you paid for it with the price of your blood and I thank you for giving me rest and freedom from life itself.  I praise you for lifting me up above all circumstances and giving me strength and for taking my failures and weakness to use for your glory to build your Kingdom.  In Jesus Name.  Amen.

1 thought on “Carry the Weight”

  1. Another great one.. The work God has done through you truly is AWESOME… Your Great sis… Thank You and I Honor You for all that you do… Love You

Leave a Reply

