Abundant life

Happy Birthday Mother

Today is my mother’s birthday.  She is 64 years old.  She gave birth to  me age 17.  It is hard to believe she was so young when she got married.  I remember at age 19 when I married and it is hard to believe that time passes so quickly.  

Today was a busy day for me writing and preparing for upcoming speaking sessions.  I didn’t go to the regular Monday staff meetings but stayed in my PJs till noon and sat in front of this computer.  I finished two lessons and read part of a book.  By the time two rolled around it was off to the store to buy rest of tonight’s supper, including a cake.  I decided to make one in which I don’t usually make them very pretty.  In fact, my mother even wanted to know why there was a hump in the middle of the cake.  OK you can laugh, I might not always make the pretty food, but it is good.  I brushed off the sarcasm as she then laughed and said I had hidden her a surprise.  A yellow cake, covered with whip cream, sweet condensed milk and a can of pineapple are not the best to eat at night and after a big meal.

My brother and his family came and of course Granny was invited.  Romeo, mom’s dog was really excited to come and see my dog Roxie. They constantly were under our feet chasing one another.  There is nothing like having family over and home cooked food!  I stuffed myself on grape salad and if you have never had it, you don’t know what you are missing.  Carmel, a friend of mine made it for me one day last summer and it is one of my most favorite ways to eat grapes.  Grapes, sour cream, cream cheese, brown sugar and nuts are included in this mixture in which I don’t think is the most non-calorie way to eat fruit.  I also fixed fried squash another favorite of mine that I had not had in a long time, which again, fried is not considered non fattening.  Come to think of it, I fixed what I liked most instead of what mom liked.  Isn’t it funny how we go for convenience and what we are craving?  My mother and father seemed to enjoy themselves just being with the family.  Lots of laughter and a game of Phase Ten followed the cake and ice cream.

I am most thankful for special times like these.  Although I miss Bryson and Lyle not being here, I know they would have loved to share this special occasion with us.  Lyle is on his way to India and made one more phone call to me before boarding.  I sit here in bed, sleepy, tired and blessed.  It is good times like these that make everyone feel special, even my dog who lies with a chew toy Granny brought to her.  I hope today was a day of blessing for you as well.

Prayer:  Lord, you are so good all the time.  I am thankful and I am blessed to know your love and your peace as I lay my head down at night.  Thank you for always watching over our family in every situation and especially birthday parties.  In Jesus Name.  Amen.

I Corinthians 9:23

Do everything to spread the Good News and share in its blessings.

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Mother”

Leave a Reply

