Abundant life, Encouragement, faith

Hang On To Your Promises

We all have a promise from God.  Sometimes it is just finding which promise to keep because we tend to lose them in this thing called life.  I remember as a new Christian believer my pastor’s wife telling me that God had a plan for me to do something special.  That might sound like a small word to you but it was during that moment I held on to it and planted it deep within my soul.  At the time I was like a little child in awe wanting to know what treasure God had planned for me.  Every single time I would get down or feel emotional about an issue, I held on to that promise of God looking at me with something special just for me.  At that particular time, I only saw myself with four babies, staying home and dealing with a high demanding schedule with children teaching a few Bible studies here and there.  I wouldn’t have guessed that twenty-five years later I would fill the role as pastor’s wife myself, writing a blog everyday, speaking to communities and conferences, traveling the nations or going to India to raise up an orphanage.  My life is filled with many promises that I constantly bring to front.

We sometimes don’t know the power of words or the magnitude of encouragement in the moment of prayer.  However, I am thankful today that she said it.  I wonder if she remembers?  I know there are many times I have also spoken over women at the altar under the influence of the Spirit and planted the seed of promises of God in hopes that one day, maybe years later they have held on to see their promise come to fruition.  So the next time you have the opportunity to give a word of encouragement to someone, please don’t pass up the moment.  As in heaven one day, you will see the results of your good works.

As for Patsy, thank you for your obedience to Christ in sharing those words with me one Sunday morning.  I so remember your hand patting me on the shoulder as with tears in your eyes saying, “God wants to use you and I feel someday He has something special just for you”.  My heart is forever grateful for the seeds of God’s love you shown me in my infant stage of Christianity.  Your legacy lives on, for now I use the little “love pats” on the back of many women and children around the world to minister the love of Jesus that you shared with me many years ago.  I will always love you and your family.

Prayer:  Lord I praise you for your promises you give us through someone else speaking over us.  I know you have many promises for all of us and I pray that people will hold on to your words.  I love you.  In Jesus Name. Amen.

2 Peter 1:4 New International Version (©1984)
Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature and escape the corruption in the world caused by evil desires.

Leave a Reply

