Abundant life, Emotional, Encouragement, God Speaks, Love and Life of a Testimony, marriage enrichment

Perfect Heart of Coming Together

This weekend has been a really fun weekend.  We arrived in Shreveport Louisiana on Friday ready to tackle this Marriage Enrichment of Faith Tabernacle. Yesterday speaking to the congregation of first service, I talked about the two “C” words.  Commitment and Compassion when brought together forms a heart.  If you don’t believe me hold your hands up to form two Cs, then bring them together and you have a heart as your fingertips touch!  When I was praying about this message and it being Valentines Day I wanted to bring my message and implement the special day and God said, “Just connect your two Cs”.  It was so sweet and I wanted to giggle as I saw the congregation hold their hands up and bring them to touch and how God loves to surprise us with these little signs.   God wants to form a heart in your marriage and in your relationships with commitment and compassion.

We also renewed our vows yesterday along with about thirty other couples in the congregation.  I didn’t think I would get so emotional but it was so moving!  As I spoke those words again and looked into my husband’s eyes it was as if I was standing there at age 19 looking at my 18 year old husband.  When I spoke the words again, I truly now know what they mean and know what it means to live through better or worse, richer or poor, and in sickness and in health.  I know what it is like to be committed to the one you love.  Through the tough times of adjusting to one another, willing to change myself, through motherhood and all the other seasons in-between, it takes work and a heart of compassion.    Although I didn’t receive a mushy Valentine’s Day card, or candy, or roses,  but what I got is a promise, a vow, a commitment from my husband of 26 years.  April 15th we celebrate our 27 years and 29 years of knowing each other and I smile today because it has been worth every heart ache, every tear, every pain, every tough time and it has all came together with the heart of Jesus with commitment and compassion!

Prayer:  I wake today being happy in my heart just knowing Your love God has brought us together for a purpose in your Kingdom.  I pray that I will always have your heart, your love, your compassion to pour out on others.  I praise you that you have given me that someone who completes me!  In Jesus Name.  Amen.

Ruth 1: 16-17 New International Version (©1984)
But Ruth replied, “Don’t urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God.Where you die I will die, and there I will be buried. May the LORD deal with me, be it ever so severely, if anything but death separates you and me.”

Leave a Reply

