Abundant life, Educational and Informative, Encouragement

Shadow Day

Today my 16-year-old niece Chelsey is coming over for a school project.  It is called “Job Shadow Day”.  She will have the opportunity to follow me around today to see what it is like to have a profession called, Pastor/Speaker/Teacher/Photographer/Counselor/Church Secretary/Graphic Designer/Mercy29 Sponsor Coordinator/ Writer and I could be more creative and come up with more things to call myself.   I am being funny so smile…. As a mother and a busy wife, she might not ever want to be like me but today she will have the chance to be on the run.  Today I made a list of things to do so we will be busy and I hope I am able to teach her something as she follows me around.  She will learn that I am only somewhat organized, that I jump from one project to another, and I love to eat out.  I wonder since I have another girl with me today if shopping is considered in the job shadowing business?  We will be going right past TJ Max so I am sure it would be fine to put that in her essay and we can conclude it’s about being a Proverbs 31 woman.  I am sure she already knows about shopping but it won’t hurt to just look!

Today is a planned day and I know she will be watching.  However do you realize there are people who are around you everyday walking in your shadow?  They may not take literal notes but mentally they see if you portray who you have really claimed to be.  Our words, our actions and our character is constantly being watched by friends, co-workers, business associates and employers.  People always watch you regardless of what kind of day you are having.  There is good days and bad days and days we want to hide from people however there is always someone in your shadow.

I am also thankful to know that God hides us in the shadow of His care.  He is always watching and always with us through it all no matter what comes our way good or bad.

Psalms 17:6-8 New International Version (©1984)
I call on you, O God, for you will answer me; give ear to me and hear my prayer. Show the wonder of your great love, you who save by your right hand those who take refuge in you from their foes.Keep me as the apple of your eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings.

This is a pattern to Christians to commit the keeping of their souls to God, trusting him to preserve them to his heavenly kingdom.

Prayer:  Lord, I pray that Chelsey will be guided by your strength in knowing how I serve you throughout the day.  Let us all be examples of your love and your spirit.  Let us shadow you as others shadow us.  In Jesus name. Amen.

1 thought on “Shadow Day”

Leave a Reply

