Encouragement

Local Hero Dog

If you own a dog then you just know.  You know and have a sense that they understand what you are going through and they are smart enough to know when they do something wrong or if there is something wrong.  They love attention and rarely seem in a bad mood, always ready to guard and also to love even more so save your life.  Sometimes they do things in which qualifies them as a hero.  A couple of weeks ago, during the freezing temperatures, my neighbor’s dog became a hero.

Kim had let her dog out at 2:30 in the afternoon.  Wearing only jogging pants, t-shirt and socks she went outside to get her and slipped on ice and fell.  She lay there unconscience for three hours.  Her little dog, a Shih Tzu, laid on top of her chest the entire time.  Since no one could get her to answer her phone, family came to her home and found her barely alive laying in the yard as if she was frozen but barely breathing.  She suffered from severe hypothermia and frost bite but is now recovering from the ordeal.  The doctors told her that her survival is a miracle and her little dog kept her heart and lungs from freezing.  I remember my other neighbor calling me and asking if the ambulance was coming to my house and as I looked out the window I could tell it was at her house.  I wasn’t for sure what was going on since it was dark.  I am thankful not only for our pets but that her life was spared.

Kim never felt cold or scared.  She had a comfort that God was with her through it all.  I know that God gives us special friends in times like these, and those special friends might just be a little furry and like to bark.  Darby Jo was her angel.  If you have a great story to tell about your pet, please leave me a comment because I love to hear stories like this.

Prayer:  Lord I am happy to know that your creatures great and small are always there for us and that you made them just for us.  You are always with us in times of need with your grace and saving power.  I praise you for tiny miracles in my life every day.  Amen

Deuteronomy 31:8 New International Version (©1984)
The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”

Leave a Reply

