Abundant life, Encouragement

Parking Lot

When you pull into the parking lot, where do you go?  Is it like my husband and park the first and furthest away space or like me who continues to drive straight to the front hoping to get a close spot?  I will even drive around several times looking for a space that is most convenient instead of parking and walking. Most of the time by the time I find one, I could have already been to the door if I had parked across the lot.   I wonder if there is a personality test which can tell you about the places you park.  We both have our reasons.  He parks away from everyone else so we won’t get our car dinged on from other car doors, plus good exercise.  Me on the other hand will make anything fit and I feel special when God gives me a spot close like I am a favorite.  I even shout “Thank you lord for that close spot, favor ain’t fair!”    You can laugh if you want to but when we take Benita with us, and yes she is handicapped we know exactly where to go, no searching for a parking space then.  Oh, and by the way, I have never parked in a handicap space just to get closer because I want to run in and make a quick trip.  I did get yelled at one time by a woman who thought it was her spot and we raced to get the parking space and I won.  She yelled out as mom and I got out of the car, “Hope you like that spot” and of course, I yelled back, “Sure do!”.  I was eight months pregnant at the time so I hoped she wouldn’t get out of her car after she stopped right behind me. What about not remembering where you parked, I hate that!  I have been known to come out and push the alarm just to hear my car to find it.  I also like hitting the alarm when people walk by the car just to make them jump, good laugh but not nice.

Sometimes I think God gives us parking tickets and tells us to move but we can be so stubborn sometimes or we may lack the ability to move.  Through it all we must stay mobile, not parked all the time.  If we remained immobile, we cannot go anywhere, see anything, be effective or reach our destination.  

Parking lots are like many places we go in our life.  Some are marked clearly and some are not.  Some are dirty, clean,marked, dangerous, well lit or dark.  Some can be a journey and some can be short lived.  God is the greatest direction in all the parking lots we may drive in to.  Some of the lots we have no business driving in to and parking there, cause if we do, we only get into trouble or banged up with scars and marks from others.  As you may have guessed, I am not talking about real parking lots here but life in general.  However as we drive daily, think about the purpose God has for you and where He wants you to park.  We all drive into many parking lots, short-term and long-term.  We must be nice in the process.

Prayer:  Lord, I know you always give me direction in my life.  Give us the wisdom to know how long to stay in each lot.  In Jesus Name.  Amen.

Psalms 31:3, 139:24 New Living Translation (©2007)
You are my rock and my fortress. For the honor of your name, lead me out of this danger.  See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Leave a Reply

