Abundant life, faith, Leadership, Love and Life of a Testimony

Taking Care of Business

Last Wednesday night in our Fast Track Disciples Class I taught about being a good steward.  Many people think stewardship is always talking about money but that is only one way.  The lesson begins with obeying the Lord and His Word as found in Deuteronomy 28.  I then explained that a steward is someone who is entrusted with goods of another, manages them, takes care of it for the benefit of the owner.  We learned through Scripture that everything belongs to the Lord and it is all His which also includes us because we too are bought with a price, his blood.  God has entrusted us to take care of His Kingdom on Earth.  This responsibility sometimes seem overwhelming and difficult when we also know we should steward our bodies, our minds, heart, our property and our soul, our time and money.  I sometimes lose concept of this reality when I don’t stay focused on my relationship with Jesus and focus on doing acts of kindness or service because that is what I am suppose to do.  I lose out when I don’t manage my time or money because it is then I reap what I have sown, grumbling in the process of unbelief.  Give little, get little, give much, get much, is just a few sayings along with the measure you give will be the measure you get back.  We all know this yet sometimes either walk in disillusionment thinking it doesn’t pertain to us or use the excuse of being forgetful.  In times past when I complained to my husband about wanting a new purse, clothes, shoes, car, house and along with other things, he would say, “Take care of what you have first”.  “God can’t trust you with more if you can’t take care of what you do have” was another saying.   I sometimes would think he only told me those things just so I would take time to clean out my closet, hang my clothes up or clean up the car.  However, it did work!  To improve our stewardship means to be accountable for what you are allowed to have.  It also means being thankful.  When someone says I can’t afford to give either in time or money to the work of God then it is that same person who reaps poverty in the areas that are not sown in to.  The field is ready to harvest but only to those who have planted.  

We make a living by what we get and a life by what we give. I am unaware to said this quote but it makes sense.  I have also read that millionaire are the one who gives the most away, yet managing in stewardship in every way.  If a person doesn’t plan or steward wisely evidentially the money will run out or it will leave a person feeling empty and their energy depleted.

Today is a new day, a new year.  I hope to focus on my strengths and give more than I did last year.  I don’t give to get, I give to promote the principles of living for Jesus and the fruit there of so people will see what is most important.  I want to examine my motives and my values always ready to improve even though I know change is difficult.  However with Jesus walking with me daily, I know I can be a great steward in the things I am allowed to steward for the master.

Prayer:  Open up the heavens Lord so that I may bless and grow your Kingdom.  Allow us to advance and move forward in our relationships, loving you and being a great steward in what you have given us.  You Lord are worthy of all praise for all creation was from your hands.  Mold us with your attitude and right motives for giving.  Let our lives be full, wealthy in all areas so that we may give to those who need to see and feel your touch.  In Jesus name. Amen

Luke 6:38New American Standard Bible (©1995)
“Give, and it will be given to you. They will pour into your lap a good measure– pressed down, shaken together, and running over. For by your standard of measure it will be measured to you in return.”

Leave a Reply

