Abundant life, Love and Life of a Testimony, Parenthood

Awards Day

Yesterday was a busy day for us. I prepared most of our lunch ahead of time so after church we could come home and eat within thirty minutes.  We invited three more guest.  I had called mom ahead of time and asked her to make cornbread, corn and dessert.  After a great lunch and fellowship we had to leave for Big Eight Awards.  I hoped my guest understood why we had to rush through.

Spencer, invited for the third year in a row to attend this area district awards for football.  As I sat there and saw all the other players receive their award, the parents just gleamed.  They filmed and took pictures so proud of their child.  Of course, this was also me with camera in my hands and snapping away.  My baby is ready for the next chapter of his life in just a few more months of Senior year.  It was a moment captured in time to see your child achieve what they had worked so hard for.  Next Sunday is his school Football Award Banquet where the team players will be awarded on a local level.  I see some parents cry and get very emotional at these things.  Since this is my fourth child and one of many award banquets, I wasn’t so emotional as the other parents but Jeff and I was still proud.

Spencer has always been a team player and a leader of encouragement.  He has a heart to help others and build up the group to win.  I just wish he would apply this skill to his school studies.  He continues to struggle in reading comprehension and focus on subjects.  He feels the pressure of us constantly telling him to get his grade point average up if he wants colleges to look at him.  In fact we have a meeting with a near by college who is wanting him to come and play football for them in the fall.  Football and other sports seem so important to a teen yet it does prepare them in some ways for life.  Life is full of games, and if you are not prepared then my friend you won’t win.  If you try to cheat your way through without a game plan, you will lose time and time again.  Prepare, have confidence and faith then put yourself in the game.  Be ready in all times and go for the goal.

Just as the coach kept up with all the tackles, touch downs and rushing yards, our Heavenly Father is keeping track of every good thing we do.  Just as a proud parent He is waiting for the day to present your awards to you.  It will emotional, it will be a moment worth all the hard work.  It will be a time of smiles and accomplishments for a team who fought the good fight and endured to the very end.  The best part after receiving the awards, we in turn get to lay them back down and give them to the One who deserves it all.

Prayer:  I pray Lord I will be a team player and focus on your goals, keep everyone motivated so you will be a proud parent.  Forgive me for being foolish or ignorant at times, or when selfishness creeps in.  Show me your ways and let your love guide me through all the games of life.  Speak to me daily and give me the right plans.  In Jesus Name.  Amen.

Matthew 25:23  New International Version (©1984)
“His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’

Revelation 22:12  “Behold, I am coming soon! My reward is with me, and I will give to everyone according to what he has done.

Leave a Reply

