Abundant life, Encouragement, Leadership, marriage enrichment, Parenthood

Boo Boo Kisses

Yesterday while preparing lunch somehow I got a small cut on my knuckle.  It is right where you bend your finger.  I remember when I was a little girl and wondered why old people would bleed and never know how they got injured.  I still ask my dad, “How did you get that bruise”, and he replies with “I don’t know”.

As we get older I know our body changes.  When we receive those little scrapes and cuts it doesn’t hurt and we are unaware how we may attained them.  This knuckle cut, regardless however it got there, is in the process healing, although it didn’t start hurting until after the fact.  It has a constant sting which is very annoying.  When I was little I am sure I screamed and cried and wanted my mother to put a band-aid on it and give it a healing kiss.   When we got hurt, we drew attention to ourselves for help to ease the pain.  We do the opposite now and try to ignore it, or refuse help.  I am a person who puts off going to the doctor even when I know I need antibiotics.  I am sure however there are those who demand attention when they are hurt.

Many times life can bring us hurts, sometimes we know the cause and sometimes we don’t.  We can react by screaming, ignoring the situation but the fact remains, there is pain and it must heal.  Sometimes scars are left  to remind us of those hurts.  You can call it battle wounds or victories, accidents or consequences.  Sometimes we can’t just ignore it and let it fester but go to the great physician, Jesus Christ who can clean it out and apply healing balm.  We cannot leave poisons trapped or it will cause damage in the future.  What kind of wounds cause serious consequences?  Relationships that go bad.  Divorce, break ups, and times which divide us.  Abortions, words to destroy, mean and vengeful actions are to name a few.  We know the enemy comes to kill, steal and destroy so his entire tactic is to cut us without us even knowing, in hopes to have us bleed out every good thing in us.  I think it is important to recognize when we find ourselves hurt not to seek revenge but to receive healing.  Don’t try to cover it without cleaning it out first or it will affect others with a nasty infection in the future.  Be open be honest and let the Father kiss your boo boo.

If you find yourself bleeding today, take time to give it to Daddy.  Let Him kiss it and make it better.  When you do, I promise the pain will cease to exist.

Prayer:  Lord help me realize when I get hurt who I need to turn to.  I don’t want to turn inward, be selfish or fight with revenge but stay humble and seek your face and your direction.  Heal my wounds of my past, my present and my future.  In Jesus name.  Amen.

Jeremiah 30:17  New International Version (©1984)
But I will restore you to health and heal your wounds,’ declares the LORD.

Leave a Reply

