Abundant life, Encouragement, Leadership, marriage enrichment, Parenthood, Salvation

Your Life in a Jar

My husband would always remind me of my priorities.  Many times I would get so busy I would forget what things are first and seem to ignore what is needed. Before I knew it, I  stressed with so many things to do and my life was out of control with just “things”.  He told me that I needed to learn how to say, “NO”.  Now considering my go to personality and high activity lifestyle that was a real problem for me to tackle.   There is nothing wrong with having your own time, your own business, your social activities or personal goals, however we must set up priorities to gain the fullest potential of life’s blessings.  If we allow God to take over and give us directions He will clean out the things in which pulls us away from the main things.

We met with a friend the other day who wanted to know how to better balance her life and all of her things she had on her list.  She entered our office with a list of daily things and wanted to know how to get all the things in priority.  This is what my husband used as an example.

Our life is like an empty jar and we learn to fill it up to make us happy.  If you have several items large and small and don’t prioritize how they go in the jar, then something will be left out and anxiety kicks in because there is no balance and someone will be hurt because of it.  Let us use three large rocks as your main priorities.  First rock is God.  This is first put in the jar.  Your relationship with Jesus is be handled carefully and first, making time for Him in prayer, word and service is an absolute.  Many times people will pray at the end of the day, or only go to church when they feel like it, read the Bible only at church, well you get the picture.  If selling out and giving your entire life to God is not first in your life, there is consequences but it is however your choice.  The next rock is your spouse.  It is fulfilling your role either as husband or wife and making sure your responsibilities taken care of.  This includes housework, finances, meals, shopping and basic necessities of living.  It is spending quality time with your spouse in meeting their need to feel loved and keep up a relationship as a couple, making decisions together and sharing a life.  The third rock is children.  Relationship with your children is like a ministry.  Time, effort, communication and providing basic needs along with over abundance of love and guidance  given to our children to teach them the ways they too can enjoy life.  If any one of these is missing or is out-of-order, your life will not reach the fullest potential of God’s blessings.  If you put your children over your husband, you limit your potential.  If you put your spouse before God, you limit your potential.  If you put God last, you and your family will suffer.  Your choice and your decisions portray who you are and are clearly seen by other people plus it sets an example that your children will follow.  

Our intimacy with God determines the impact of our lives and on the lives we come in contact with.  There is no preacher or pastor or prophet or evangelist or counselor that can help you solve your problems for you if you don’t get your priorities in order.  Most of the time IF we choose to get these lined in divine order, things will automatically work out.  As a counselor, I can give you tools and homework suggestions to enhance your relationships but it is ultimately up to you to change.  

The small pebbles that may go next could be many or few, but be determined if you can fit them in your schedule without taking away from the large rocks.  In my life I choose to have many rocks and find myself into many projects in which I cannot complete because of time, therefore I set myself for a let down.  Although I am well capable of doing that particular project, my big rocks come first.  How should we decide what little rocks fit?  Look at what you do the best and what is your passion.  Does it have eternal value?  What will have a lasting impact on your future?  What will leave a legacy for others?  Does it agree with the Word of God, godly attributes, would Jesus do this?  Do any of these pebbles have the potential to consume your mind or time or take the place of the large rocks?  These are just a few questions you must ask yourself before you start filling in your jar.

As I said yesterday in my blog, sometimes the truth hurts.  Sometimes we have messes in our life in which we try to hide and the world sees them anyway.  Your life is like a jar and you portray who you really are by the stones you choose to put in it.  If you have found yourself out of order and your life a little chaotic, then maybe my friend it is time to empty your jar and start over.

Prayer:  Lord I know I have failed many times in getting my priorities in order.  I pray that you help me to realize when to say no and when to say yes on the little stones but keep the main ones visible and first.  Sometimes I don’t realize that I do this and I am sorry.  I will trust you to guide me in all decisions and choices I have.  In Jesus name.  Amen.

New Living Translation

Matthew 6:33  Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.

Deuteronomy 28:1-2  If you fully obey the LORD your God and carefully follow all his commands I give you today, the LORD your God will set you high above all the nations on earth.  You will experience all these blessings if you obey the LORD your God.

1 thought on “Your Life in a Jar”

  1. God is there first, but the children and the husband rock I get mixed up most days. I too try to put too many little pebbles in my jar and then beat myself up when I cannot complete all I have for the day.

Leave a Reply

