Abundant life, Encouragement, Leadership, marriage enrichment, Parenthood

Motivation For The New Year

Everyone always thinks of New Year’s Resolution as making a change for the better.  People may make statements such as to exercise more, eat less, give more, spend more time with family, get out of debt, get organized or stopping bad habits are listed in the top ten.  Go to church and get involved, be more spiritual, pray more, study more and do good deeds are also listed among believers.  However 65% of people only make it through the first few months doing those things.  By April, most have fallen off the wagon and are committing the same old habits again.  The definition of insanity is doing the same old things over and over again but expecting a different result comes to life during this time. So if only 6% -12% of Americans keep and see through their resolutions, how do we stay motivated to be a part of that group?

There are times when again it comes down to my mood swings when I know my closet needs organizing and yes I know I don’t like the flab on my belly yet I can’t seem to always get motivated about changing or disciplining myself to actually change my habits.  I have found out the most motivated people are those who are disciplined and have a habit of keeping organized and writing things down.  Visualizing accomplishments is one tactic that can help turn resolutions into realities, according to a panel of fitness and nutrition experts. Being realistic, making incremental changes, finding an accountability partner and putting something to train for on the calendar can work, too.

So yesterday, I didn’t start out very well since my routine schedule was interrupted by driving to Nashville to check out buying a truck for Lyle.  I don’t like it when others plan my schedule for me but I know I must also learn to be flexible with others and with my husband.  I didn’t take time to write anything down, so guess what, I didn’t do anything when I got home.

This is my plan to stay motivated.  I am going sit down and write down my goals for the year.  When I go grocery shopping I will have already planned my meals out for the shopping list.  When we go out to eat, we have decided to share a meal instead of getting appetizers and a meal each, along with no dessert.  (This way, our tab is less and we don’t leave feeling over stuffed and watch our calories)  The plan of exercising will be to encourage each other and go together to the gym but it must be planned into our schedule so we won’t miss and I don’t have to be in the mood.  I will continue to visualize myself as being the best fit 46-year-old woman who can keep up with the daily demands of pasturing two churches, running my home, photography business, writing, traveling in missions and still find time for myself and for my family.  It starts today!

Prayer:  Lord, help me to realize that I can accomplish and find strength and motivation through your direction everyday.  I pray we all turn to you in help when we feel as though we cannot change or when we start feeling down about failing our goals.  I know that as I continue to pursue and see your Spirit daily, I will find a relationship with you like no other and know that all things can be accomplished.  In Jesus Name. Amen.

I Corinthians 2:4-5  New International Version (©1984)
My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, so that your faith might not rest on men’s wisdom, but on God’s power.

Leave a Reply

