Abundant life, Encouragement, faith, forgiveness, Love and Life of a Testimony, Parenthood, Patience, Salvation

Questioned Being Loved

Have you ever thought about why or how come people love you?  Do you feel loved because of who you are, your personality, your role, your job or what you can do for them?  Or is it that you question if people love you because of their actions toward  you?  For most it is the latter.  Marriages fall apart because of a spouse’s actions doesn’t portray love.  We can automatically assume that someone doesn’t love us because the way they are acting toward us, however this may not always be the case.

I spoke to a friend yesterday and she asked me if I ever felt sorry for myself and had a pity party and also if I have ever questioned myself if anyone truly loved me or why they loved me.  At first, we all think that might be silly to dwell on such a thought but I think there are some people who do question about others loving them.  I myself have even thought about why my husband loves me.  Now some of you may be thinking, why in the world would she ever question being loved.  Yes, I am taken care of by my husband and we have a beautiful marriage and I am so glad to have agape passion in our life but sometimes the thought of why people may love you still comes across your mind every once in a while.  I don’t know about you but sometimes I like to hear my husband tell me that he loves me.  I then ask him, “why”?  He just smiles at me and knows I am trying to pull out the sentimental counseling therapy on him for him to feed me my love language with words of affirmation.  He then proceeds to tell me why he loves me.  I think sometimes we may wonder why people love us if we are attacked by the enemy of our self-worth and identity of who we are in Jesus Christ.  We even go through valleys of doubting if God loves us or why He would love us with all our faults and failures in our actions.  Because of the way we have been trained to think, “He doesn’t really love me because IF he did, then he wouldn’t do that”, is a thought in which we all have lived through.

Does a parent get angry with their toddler for falling down when he begins to walk?  Does the parent get upset when they have to feed or change the baby? Does a parent throw his child out on the curb because it made the parent upset with his behavior?  Of course not.  Does a parent feel upset when they discipline their child?  Of course they do but they know they must in order to create a respectable and responsible adult.  Most parents have unconditional love for their child.  It doesn’t matter what that child has done, the parent will always love them unconditionally.  The parent may not always agree or like the child’s behavior, actions or lifestyle as they mature but they still love them.  I believe however it is important as parents we tell our children that we love them.  There is not a day that goes by that I do not tell my children I love them every time they leave the house or when I talk to them by phone.  

God is our heavenly Father.  We must believe we are His children and He loves us unconditionally.  It doesn’t matter what we have done in the past or how many times we have failed.  We must understand as children of our Heavenly Father as long as we are living here in the flesh on this earth we cannot be perfect but strive to be.  We must realize as we mature that it is a process in which we must continue to grow in.  We must be able to identify when we start thinking God doesn’t love us, that it is from the enemy trying to sow seeds of unbelief and doubt in the power and love of God.  We must realize God loves us so much that all he wants from us is loving Him back.  We must show the unconditional love to others and our actions should that be of love.  Our actions may reflect selfish ways instead of God’s way but He loves us no matter what.  The action of others toward us may not always be that of love, however we can be rest assured we are always unconditionally loved by God.

Prayer:  Lord forgive me when I question whether or not that I am loved by you or anyone else.  I know you love me even before I knew and loved you.  I pray that I will always reflect your love by actions and loving unconditionally.  In Jesus name.  Amen

2 Peter 3:9 New International Version (©1984)
The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.

Leave a Reply

