Love and Life of a Testimony, Parenthood

Hate A Cold

Yesterday I woke up with a head cold.  I don’t like having sinus congestion, sore throat and coughing all day.  It is a pain to carry a kleenex with you all day for the drips.  I took 1000mg vitamin C and the usual cold and sinus medication but I still feel like junk.  Being a pastor’s wife, we don’t miss church for anything.  Of course I would love to take another antihistamine and crawl back into bed and sleep this infection off.  However, we are super women, yes we are.  I make the coffee, make the bed, yell at the kids to get up, go to church, and go out to eat while all the time feeling like my head is going to fall off.  We stop for nothing.  Then tomorrow, staff meeting and also photography appointments throughout the week, I feel exhausted just thinking about it.

Today I treasure the thought I still have all my boys home in which Lyle will be leaving on Tuesday to go back to Texas and Bryson will leave to go back to Arkansas next week.  Kenzie and Caitlin spent the night and also my nephew Travis, so my home is full of people.  A mom does not need to be sick during this time.  I am afraid to go upstairs to see what the rooms look like.  I am sure however there are children’s rooms all over the world that look a little chaotic after Christmas so I am not going to stress myself out over it now.

As for now, my thoughts are happy to know we survived yet another Christmas.  We had our family pow wow and discussed our goals and vision for the upcoming year and reflected on the past year.  Jeff read from the Bible and talked to all of us about character.  Kenzie, Caitlin and Travis were grafted in to our family meeting.  We sat here challenged for the new year and we all are looking forward to see what God is going to do.  In the mean time, I will finish these next few days of the year trying to rid myself of this stupid cold.

Prayer:  Lord give me strength for the rest of the day and the rest of the week!  I claim your healing for my body.  In Jesus name. Amen

New American Standard Bible (©1995)
Matthew 12:15  But Jesus, aware of this, withdrew from there. Many followed Him, and He healed them all.

Leave a Reply

