Love and Life of a Testimony, Parenthood

Taking Care of Mom

The next few days will bring either much stress or much happiness to all.  I found out  last night that my mother had fallen down the steps and hurt her ankle.  She was not going to call and tell me, so I know she didn’t call my brother and tell him either.  She is so independent and stubborn when it comes to anyone needed to take care of her.  She is constantly on the go, so I am sure it will be hard for her to remain immobile.  She had packed ice on it all night and I called her this morning and plainly stated we were going to the doctor and get X-rays whether she liked it or not.  It seems the older they get, the more role reversal kicks in.

Mom always took care of other people.  She would go to the center everyday to give my grandmother a bath and to feed her.  This went on for seven years before my grandmother passed.  She would always be the first to make a meal or sit with someone who was terminally ill.  She has held the hand of several people taking their last breath.  She is a strong woman who doesn’t like being down.  She also waits on my father who is sick with emphysema on a daily basis, so if she sprained her foot or broke it they both will suffer.  For some reason dad won’t wait on himself  if mom is around, nor will he eat.  It is the funniest thing to see how over the years she has spoiled my father.

For all my faithful readers, I must be on the way out the door for now.  We have an appointment.  Mom won’t be happy but it is time she must decide as all of us will too, we are not as young as we think we are, or at least that is what our bodies tell us when we take a fall.

Prayer:  Lord, I pray my mother’s foot is not broken.  I pray you give her healing and rest.  I trust in you for a good report today!  Amen

Matthew 19:19  New International Version (©1984)
Honor your father and mother,’ and ‘love your neighbor as yourself.'”

1 thought on “Taking Care of Mom”

  1. Just a note to let everyone know, my mom is fine and she just has a sprained ankle and a bruised and sore body. She is like a horse and she won’t go down!

Leave a Reply

