Abundant life, Encouragement, Leadership, Love and Life of a Testimony, marriage enrichment, Parenthood

Coming Home

Sunday my husband got emotional during preaching.  This will be the first Christmas without his father.   Johnnie passed away in March so Christmas will definitely be different for all of us.  The holidays seem to bring people together no matter what the circumstances might be, most everyone wants to go home.

Home is not just a house but is meant to be a place of rest and protection.  It also meant to be a place of provision and a place of love.  Even when you move away and are out on your own with your own family, it is still good to go home.  I know when I visit my parent’s home, my home, the first thing I want to do when I go in, is eat.  Even when I am not hungry, I just want to look and see what goodies she has on the counter or what leftovers she has in her fridge.  She always wants to make me something to eat.  It seems like it brings her most pleasure to cook up something or have us over for a meal.  So you see, my home symbolizes where I get nourishment or sweets that feed and pamper my body.   My parents I know get lonely, get in routine and love to have us visit.  They only live five miles away.

Jeff’s home in which he grew up is thirty minutes away.  When he goes home, he just sits on the couch and his mother just loves to fix him something to eat.  No one can go into that home without be made sure you had a great visit.  You will be made to drink a coke or at least something.  Food also is all over the table or counter just waiting for you to respond to its call.  Jeff also told of a story of how he likes to visit his home.  There are times when he was feeling overwhelmed or hurt or full of anxiety over pressures of life, and it was then that he would go and visit his home.  He would visit about an hour and then come back to our house.  He didn’t always ask for advice or even tell his parents his fears, it was just being able to go into a familiar place and find peace and rest.  The atmosphere of his home life while growing up was a peaceful with loving security.

We can look at all of our lives and hope that we too can create this place of home.  I know when my two boys come in for holidays (they live in other states longer than 7 hours driving) all they want to do is eat and sleep.  They know I will clean up after them and they know dad will pay for meals in restaurants.  They do not worry about coming home to chaos with fighting or bad attitudes of non-christian lifestyle.  They know they will be provided for and they feel safe.  They never have to ask us for these things because we provide for them because of loving them as our children.  They WANT to come home.

Parents wait for the day to be surprised by their children who may live in another state and come home to see them.  I know of three children who are all married were not going to be able to see their parents because one is stationed overseas.  However, they planned a vacation and was able to be away for a few days, so now they are going to surprise their parents for Christmas.  There are stories like these that make holidays worthwhile.

Now here is the question or challenge.  Are people grateful when you leave or grateful they spent time with you? Your home while growing up might not reflect our home however you have the know how to change your situation for your own children.  Fight the chaos with the love of Jesus Christ being King in your home.  If we seek Him with all, He will fill it with those things that provide safety, provision, love, peace and rest.  Provide a place where children will want to come home to.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus, you are most welcome in my home and in my heart.  I thank you for always giving us a place to call home.  Soak us with your love, your peace and rest.  Thank you for always providing even when I don’t seem thankful or forget to thank you.  In Jesus Name.  Amen.

Joshua 24:15  But as for me and my household, we will serve the LORD.

Douay-Rheims Bible But if it seem evil to you to serve the Lord, you have your choice: choose this day that which pleaseth you, whom you would rather serve, whether the gods which your fathers served in Mesopotamia, or the gods of the Amorrhites, in whose land you dwell: but as for me and my house we will serve the Lord.

1 thought on “Coming Home”

  1. I do and I know I’m getting closer to the time when my parents will not be here for Christmas. But we try to make every time special when we see each other. I’ve been away from them now 27 years. Still so hard and painful the older they get. Nice blog…I love you!

Leave a Reply

