Abundant life

Gritting Teeth

Ok, I am feeling a bit overwhelmed since Christmas is one week away and I still haven’t bought a single gift.  My husband went yesterday and bought one but I did however accomplish getting Christmas cards mailed out and a few loaves of bread made.  I am not a humbug or a Scrooge when it comes to Christmas, I just think it is ridiculous to go out and spend money for no reason at all.  Although we might not have everything we may want, our needs are met.  Why should we feel like the expectancy to give a gift on a certain day ?  Why do we feel required to do this?  Blame it on the system, economics, sales, stores, tradition or whatever.  It all seems like a mess to me and over exposed.  I just feel sorry for all the people who feel this pressure, gritting their teeth and going into debt.  My parents don’t need extra “stuff” lying around and our boys don’t need any new things just for the sake of getting them a gift.  Jeff’s mother has all she needs so buying her something she will hang in her closet or return is just another way to waste time and money.  Bah humbug… well maybe I am just in a rotten mood. :O

Christmas time for most is to celebrate Jesus Christ.  We all know Jesus was not born on December 25th but it is a day set aside to celebrate his birth.  It makes it nice for everyone to get to take the day off and spend with family.  It is a time for sharing the love of Christ and be thankful, not to rack up credit cards.  Maybe I am being to hard on myself or just too busy to slow down for another thing on my agenda.  No, what I really think is that I can’t sleep for I am feeling overwhelmed for not getting anything done.  Do I work better under pressure?  Maybe.  I think I got up to early this morning to care what I am writing.  So if you are reading this blog… blablabla.

Today is a new day.  I will shop, I will contribute to the madness and I will like it.  I always treasure watching others open their gifts and see their expressions. Our bank account will be a little less, our house will be a little messy and disorganized and the pressure of gift giving continues until the day after.  Christmas doesn’t need to be just the day to celebrate Jesus, for we should be doing this throughout the year.  Gift giving shouldn’t be just at Christmas, but throughout the year.  Share the love of Jesus Christ every day and celebrate Him without gritting your teeth.  As for now, maybe I should go back to bed and get some sleep.

Prayer:  I am tired Lord and I need your strength and wisdom today in all that I am about to do and take on.  Help me Jesus!

New Living Translation (©2007) Psalms 5:11
But let all who take refuge in you rejoice; let them sing joyful praises forever. Spread your protection over them, that all who love your name may be filled with joy.

4 thoughts on “Gritting Teeth”

  1. You are in my prayers today. I haven’t bought one single present yet. I have separated from my husband and I’m trying to figure out how to get them a few things they REALLY want. But I feel blessed because this year my daughter has told me she will not be hurt if she doesn’t get anything because she would like to give to a child that will not be receiving anything this year. And she realizes that we have already received the perfect gift, Jesus Christ. That is my present this year, to see her maturing:) But my son hasn’t quite gotten to there yet.lol
    Have a wonderful day and get some rest. We all need that from time to time.
    Love you Melissa

  2. I think a lot of people feel the same way.
    It seems that society forces us to conform to a lot of traditions that don’t make since.

  3. Good to know that other Godly women have bad days 😉 lol. Great writing today – your honesty inspires me ….
    now to my blog.
    ugh.
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

