Abundant life, Encouragement, Leadership, prayer

Please Pray For Me

There is not a week goes by when someone says to me, “Will you pray for me”.  I feel honored to pray for anyone who asks but also believe in a God who knows their every need before they even ask me to pray.  God honors those who seek His face even if it is through His children.  I wonder why there are times we feel the need to ask others to pray for us.  I think sometimes when I ask others to pray for me it is when I am going through a difficult time or have a struggle in which I feel weak in or have little faith.  There is nothing wrong with asking people to pray for you, in fact we also should pray for ourselves. Praying not only helps the people we may be praying for but also it helps ourselves.

Prayer is our expression of love for our fellow-men. God is love.  Christ’s love urges us to compassion for all and to pray for all. We, as parts of the Body of Christ, are inter-dependent and so bear mutual responsibility for one another. While we should look at our own sins, we know that our brethren also stumble, and we please God by our concern for our brethren.

Being a Christian, we must not only pray for others but also for ourselves to stay connected and continue daily the relationship with Jesus.  We must pray without distinction of people.  Do not separate yourselves with the people but go to the people to portray Christ’s love.  Our duty as Christians is summed up in two words and that is worshipping God with godliness and honesty.  We should display good conduct toward all men.  Being honest and godly go hand in hand for if we are not honest we are not godly or a holy people.

The best gift anyone can give to another is to pray for him or her. We live in a sinful world where bad things happen to people and people are tempted to sin. Praying for another person not only helps that person find God in the midst of trouble, but also helps us recognize the blessings that God gives us each day. I always end my prayer, “In Jesus’ name”  which means I want answers that are in accordance with God’s will and character.   Perceiving more and more of God’s character and nature will help us pray the things that are on God’s agenda and agreement with His Word.  When a person asks you to pray for them, it is a sign of a trusting friendship.  Don’t put off prayer at your own time, but pray at that very moment for that person.  Prayer changes lives in both parties, not only the person you are praying for but also in yourself.

Prayer:  Lord forgive me of all those times of slothful prayer.  As I grow closer to your love, I find strength, knowledge, wisdom and your love to speak and conform my world in which I live.  Let me speak honesty, truth and portray holiness.  Let my prayers be done according to your will, your word and your love.  In Jesus name.  Amen.

New Living Translation (©2007)
I Timothy 2:1-5  I urge you, first of all, to pray for all people. Ask God to help them; intercede on their behalf, and give thanks for them.  Pray this way for kings and all who are in authority so that we can live peaceful and quiet lives marked by godliness and dignity.This is good and pleases God our Savior,who wants everyone to be saved and to understand the truth.For there is only one God and one Mediator who can reconcile God and humanity–the man Christ Jesus.

Leave a Reply

