Encouragement

Just Thinking Out Loud About Me

I know what you are thinking, “Why haven’t she wrote daily in the last few weeks”?  Sorry to all my friends or family who just might read one of my blogs every so often.  You see, I get a feed back on my stat page and can tell when stats are low and where they come from.  Although I have reached over 19 thousand hits within a year, I am not so sure my writing is beneficial.  So, if you have just stopped in today to read a daily devotion you may not find where I have written daily but I have plenty of topics to choose from the past that might be interesting to you.

Most of my hits come from bloggers or researchers hitting on topics of washing clothes cartoon or General Patton.  I do have some fb friends open my page when I do post it but just the average person out there don’t even know I exist.  Not that it is important that I write everyday, I just wanted to discipline myself to do this so I would have a book at the end of the year.  So, you see it was a short time goal, not necessary a long one.  I love to write, don’t get me wrong, I am not stopping just reconsidering the daily thing.  I think I got out of the habit being gone for over two weeks to India.

Since I have returned from India I have changed.  Changed focus and redirected myself in things I want to do.  I have been busy with photo appointments and Mercy 29 fundraisers.  I love photography and have no plans to stop but just to really slow down with appointment far between.  My husband wants me to really focus on ministry with him and be with him at the church on a daily business.  My gift is administrative Leadership so sometimes we butt heads.  It’s not just that I don’t have the heart for being at the church it is just that my time is eaten up by so much “stuff”.  I just can’t seem to get my focus on working there.  Can anyone relate?

I love being creative with making the new jewelry line for Mercy 29 and I love having parties and meeting new people.  I also am involved getting shoe boxes filled with items for Christmas to send to India.  Plus, I must make room to keep the house clean, cook and daily chores around the house on top of all that.  Starting next week, I will teach every Wednesday night for our Fastrack class.  My schedule never slows down unless I just take time to make it happen.  This is our life.  Did I mention Spencer is playing basketball this year?  Another activity added and time doesn’t slow down for no one.

Timing I know is important in all things so I don’t think I am avoiding it on purpose or procrastinating about ministry at the church.  I think the timing is just a little off right now until I get the Indian children taken care of.  Maybe the mommy is taking over in wanting to see these children have a nice Christmas vs typing or researching something at the church.  I don’t know.  I think I am in transition, and for all those in the transition you will know what I mean.  So as the new year approaches it is time to focus on setting some goals again for the new year.  Thanksgiving is this week and then the Christmas rush starts so hopefully my focus will be on writing again soon.

So, if you find yourself thinking about your focus, your activities or trying to make a decision, just stay busy but set goals.  Don’t be idle or bored because it is ineffective for the Kingdom.  Do something for the Kingdom, be creative, use your talents and act with what pleases the Lord.

Prayer:  Lord I wake daily with loving you and trusting in you with my day.  You are the One who helps me get through all this “stuff” of life in which none seems more important than following your heart and lean upon you for direction.  Help me to understand your ways and what you want me to do.  Jesus Name, Amen.

Hebrews 3:13
But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called today, so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness. New International Version

Leave a Reply

