Leadership, Soul Winning

I Am An Atheist

don't believe in God, you will learn hard wayI recently had an email that was returned to me and explained that she didn’t support what I was doing because she was an atheist.   I pondered on how to respond to this type of remark and I kept telling myself over and over, “she is not rejecting me, but my God”.  At first I just said a prayer for her and deleted the message.  However as time went on, I found myself pondering if I should respond, after all she had the guts to respond to my email with her beliefs.  So this is what I said.

I am sorry if I offended you.  There is such great need to help children whether you are a believer in Christ or not.  Compassion for suffering is born in the heart and our eyes should be open to the world in which we live in.  Please don’t be angry or upset with me but in this world there are times when we will realize there are unexplainable, things we cannot see, or touch that moves through us and upon us for a purpose.  Life is full of seasons and some of those times will bring us to a place where we will cannot rely on ourselves but on the one who created us.  Jesus does love you even if you don’t believe in him or not.  In much love…. melissa

I hope this didn’t sound mean because I know she must get many comments from believers who wish to argue with her whether there is a God or not.  I don’t want to fit in the “normal” Christian attitude of showing anger or confusion when I run into people who are atheist.  I want to show the love of God in a manner of wisdom in knowing what to say or how to respond.  I am not for sure why she doesn’t believe but there will become a time in which at the end of life, a person will struggle or be at peace with the possibility of eternal life.  It is a question we should all ask ourselves.  Although we all don’t have to respond to those who refuse to believe in God, we can walk away feeling rejected, upset or sad but we must do as Jesus would have done.  He stands there full of mercy, grace and love with arms open wide.  I hope my email didn’t show anything other than that, which I do question my motives sometimes.  How would you respond?  Have you ever met anyone like this?

I did find some information about atheist.

chart of atheismA chart showing the relationship between the definitions of weak/strong and implicit/explicit atheism. An implicitatheist has not thought about belief in gods, and would be described as being implicitly without a belief in gods. Anexplicit atheist has made an assertion regarding belief in gods. An explicitatheist may eschew belief in gods (weakatheism), or further conclude that gods do not exist (strong atheism).

 


Prayer:  Lord help me to understand those who refuse to believe in you.  Help me reach out to the unbelieving person with wisdom and words that come only from you and not my feelings or emotions.  Let your Spirit penetrate their heart in a way they will know and feel your love.  In Jesus Name. Amen.

Psalm 14:1  The fool says in his heart, “There is no God.” They are corrupt, their deeds are vile; there is no one who does good.

Psalm 10:4  The wicked, in the haughtiness of his countenance, does not seek Him. All his thoughts are, “There is no God.  New American Standard Bible

1 thought on “I Am An Atheist”

  1. We atheists do not reject god. We simply see no reason, no evidence which suggests there is one. I think Stephen Roberts said it best:

    “I contend we are both atheists, I just believe in one fewer god than you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods, you will understand why I dismiss yours.”

Leave a Reply

