Abundant life, faith, Leadership, Love and Life of a Testimony, Parenthood

Walking

Going for a walk by faithHave you ever taken a long walk.  I have found it quiet refreshing just to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.  As I walk I look around me and know that God is with me throughout this walk and through this walk of life.  I am thankful.  At times when I am frustrated or see myself getting a bad attitude then I know it is time for a walk.  Have you ever had to walk by faith?

Before I even knew I was pregnant with Lyle, I was in a car accident that should have killed both Jeff and I.  Just a few seconds earlier I had told Jeff to put his seat belt on.  We were passengers and if it hadn’t been for the seat belts or the hand of God, we would have been thrown from the car and it would have landed on top of us.  It was later, I had prayed the child within me would be alright, I had faith.  I have alway had faith to believe God would take care of me and our family.  Even through most of our difficult times, I knew God was there watching and waiting for us to fully surrender to him.  I had to walk, alone at times but with faith.

When Bryson was born he was six weeks premature.  He weighed just a little over four pounds and was only sixteen inches long.  He had to wear a monitor for the first three months.  We had to take CPR classes so if he did stop breathing, we would know what to do.   During the pregnancy, he was breach and I had problems with labor and when my water broke, a C section was the solution.  I trusted God completely and always tried to make the best out of each circumstance He allowed me to go through.  I knew that in some way my experience could help someone else later in life.When you don't know what to do...walk in faith

Jordan was always getting hurt.  He broke his leg when he was three.  He has had numerous broken bones, bike wrecks and plenty of crazy accidents as a child.  I remember being thankful when Spencer was 12 years old, it was the first time in 19 years that I hadn’t called the poison control center or at least been to the ER in a year.  As a mother of four boys within seven years apart, I had to walk by faith.  It was almost as if I was in lala land.  I had patience and it seemed nothing bothered me much when it came to parenting.

During the teen years for Lyle, he was a very sneaky teen and always getting into things he shouldn’t have.  After numerous family fights we had to let him be on his own at eighteen years old.  Although we shed many tears and prayed much, we kept our faith in knowing God was going to use all this for His good and glory.  I had to walk by faith.

Walk by faith and not by sight - trust GodWhen you run out of resources and really don’t know what to do, I suggest take a walk.  It may be a hard walk and not always pleasant.  However the peace of mind in leaning on the One who does know the end result will help you through any season of life.  Remain faithful and consistent in this walk.  Walk by faith, the evidence not seen and then when you are on the other side you can be used to help someone else in encouragement.

Prayer:  Lord, I know there are times I must put my total trust in you and walk by faith and not by sight.  I walk with you daily, I walk without knowing the end result but fully trust in you to lead in me in the direction that is best for me.  I am thankful to walk this walk of faith.  In Jesus name.  amen.

2 Corinthians 5:7  We live by faith, not by sight.

2 Corinthians 4:18  So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.

Leave a Reply

