Abundant life, Encouragement, Leadership, Parenthood

Life – Messy Football Game

Kendra Payne - 2009 Football Homecoming Queen MCHSThis past Friday night I endured what most proud parent would. Not only did I stand in the rain for over two hours watching my son play football but also got to experience his joy of breaking his own and school record for rushing with 401 yards.  While holding an umbrella, my camera with a bag over it, a towel to keep my lens from rain drops, I found it quite multi-tasking. I should have been more prepared with a wet suit or hunters gear.  It was a challenge!  The wind was shooting from one side soaking what the umbrella could not cover.  I felt sorry for the girls who had on their homecoming dresses and spent hours fixing their hair and makeup to walk into a hurricane. Their legs were soaked, their heals will take days to dry and their hair was blowing around like a tornado!   I am sure they will treasure their picture in the yearbook.

MCHS muddy football gameSometimes we can go through life and not expect or be prepared for what challenges we face.  I could have gone to the game, stayed in my truck or went home.  Instead, although my body was miserable I took in the rewarding experience.  It got muddy and messy.  It was frustrating at times. Life can be just like this football game.  At times it may seem like a mess with no solution in sight.  It may seem like we are playing a game in the middle of a storm and try to make the best out of it.  Just hold on, endure to the end.  If we could all understand, life is a series of seasons.  What is happening now might not be here tomorrow.  What we do today affects our tomorrows.  What we did yesterday is the ‘why’ we are where we are today.  Regardless of the weather of circumstances that may be beating down upon us, we all have a destination.  What is the ultimate end result?  To reach the goal, the goal of eternity.

Spencer Phillips breaks MCHS rushing recordI left with my pant legs soaked, chilled to the bone and my feet wet and muddy however I wouldn’t have traded it for the world.  The end result was definitely worth it!

Prayer:  Sometimes Lord it gets very frustrating in this game called life.  It is when I find myself in the middle of mud is when I call on you most.  I am thankful you always give us comfort, stamina and answers in the direction we should go.  Let us all depend upon you and reach the goal of eternity with you and for you.  In Jesus name, amen.

Matthew 16:2-3  He replied, “When evening comes, you say, ‘It will be fair weather, for the sky is red,’and in the morning, ‘Today it will be stormy, for the sky is red and overcast.’ You know how to interpret the appearance of the sky, but you cannot interpret the signs of the times.  NIV

John 14:26  But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you. NIV

Mark 13:13  All men will hate you because of me, but he who stands firm to the end will be saved. NIV

Leave a Reply

