Abundant life, Encouragement, faith, Leadership, Love and Life of a Testimony

Chickadee

ChickadeeI usually wake up with a thought, word or song going on in my head when I wake up in the morning.  My mother says it is a curse because if she wakes up too early, like 3 a.m. the thoughts prevent her from going back to sleep.  This morning “chickadee” was the word that popped in my head.  How random is that!  I also usually have a certain song going on in my mind over and over again, which is most of the time a song we sang at the last church service or one on my computer.  I of course had heard of this particular word but really didn’t know what it meant.  Chickadee is a bird in which makes a note sound in which it deprives its name, ” Chicka-dee-dee-dee-dee; fee-beee .”  I found it quite interesting that Chickadee is a delicate but also a tough little songbird.  These types of birds gather in flocks as a family.  They live in the Southern part of the US and have a mate for life.  I am sure I have heard this many times right in my own back yard and paid no attention to it.

I was amused this morning by what God gives me to write about.  I heard an elder saint once say, “If you wake up with a song in your head for the day, your heart is in the right place”.  I don’t always wake up with a song but sometimes a worry or concern about an issue, work, prayer concern or a family member situation.  It is then I must take my thoughts captive and rely with faith and trust in God.  This is a consistent and disciplined action in which I had to train myself to do.  It is not easy.  I must see that I get a stream of influence coming into my mind every day.  From listening to music, watching television or movies, I must guard every negative thought that may hinder my relationship with God.  When we put too much negative stimulation into our little brains we are asking for overload.  Overload agrees with fear, thus opposite with faith.   Adding these up releases doubt, anxiety and a life of chaos tormented in the mind (soul).

Every week or every day may be consistent in some ways yet things can change in a moment that breaks the normal routine. Life has its challenges.  There are always things that arise in our midst we may not even have a clue about or even know the impact it could have on us.  We have had friends who have lost their job this year, not because they were inadequate but because of recession.  We can plan but it doesn’t mean plans cannot be broken.  We have had a family devastated by a car accident in which the husband has had to rely others to take care of him, and then his wife who has painful disease was stricken also to the point where she could not move.  Both of them had not planned this event, yet they have pushed beyond their limitations with the help from God to overcome.  Our world as we know it in our own eyes can be turned upside down in just a few moments of time.  We are to always expect the best but prepare for the worst.  How can we prepare?  We wake up with a song on our heart, have an attitude of thankfulness, trust and rely on God no matter what circumstances come our way, love as He loves and limit negative influence trying to penetrate our life.  Be as the Chickadee!

Prayer:  Lord Jesus, I praise you for each and every day, always walking by my side and living within.  Let my thoughts turn to your thoughts, your ways instead of mine.  Guide me in the steps in which does not cause harm but instead bring blessings to touch others.  In Jesus name.  Amen.

Matthew 6:26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?

Psalms 28:7 The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped. My heart leaps for joy and I will give thanks to him in song.

1 thought on “Chickadee”

  1. Melissa once again you hit me right where I needed to be hit. My husband often accuses me of being a Pollyanna, I tell him no, I just chose not to let the negative rule my life. I chose to see what God is teaching me from this and how he can use it for His good.

Leave a Reply

