Abundant life, Encouragement, faith, Fear, Leadership, Love and Life of a Testimony, Salvation, Soul Winning

Hello, My Name is …. and I Am An Addict

Hello, My name is….I Am An Addict

Addictions result from inadequate relationships or inability to solve problemsPeople often seek pleasurable experiences through drugs, smoking, sex or alcohol for the purpose of giving themselves a sense of temporary relief from life’s stress.  People also seek pleasure when faced with painful personal experiences of perceived threats to their acceptance by others.  Whether we call it peer pressure or stress it is certainly not the devil that makes us do things of sinful nature in which causes harm to our bodies.  These little pleasures which may or may not lead to addictions still impact all of us in this world whether we want to admit it or not.Alcohol gives people false sense of courage to overcome fear

Addictions are not just a substance as much as it is as an addictive lifestyle.  Substance or sinful activities is used to support the role that the person would like to play in relationships with others and with God.  It is a role that the person desperately attempts to reproduce.  Here are some examples in which I have learned through counseling.

  • People you know may be addicted...Sexual addictions are used has a shortcut for a sense of fulfillment in relationships without the commitment with building wholesome relationships with other people.
  • Alcohol gives people a false sense of courage or encouragement to overcome fear or anxiety of his or her inadequacy in relationships.
  • Narcotic drugs are used for the reduction of emotional pain that people feel in relationships to produce happiness despite the pain.
  • Marijuana produces anti-motivational attitude that is later used to reduce the need to achieve what others are urging them to do.
  • Hallucinogenic drugs create an altered euphoric state to avoid the reality of failures in relationships.
  • Uppers like amphetamine, cocaine, or meth destructively and temporarily lift people from their mundane existence to make the feel excited and wonderful when they know their lives are often just the opposite.
  • Sedative drugs are used to reduce sense of stress and restlessness that people experience in relationships without have to face or solve any of the problems that caused the stress in the first place.Addictions in life

After being saved for over twenty years, sometimes it is hard for me to understand the new believers lifestyle when they struggle with past habits that are contrary to the Word of God.  Seeking pleasure is a failed substitute for personal spiritual growth and is only a temporary shortcut of relief.  Stress or painful situations in life happen.  When a believer is faced with these realities, it is an opportunity and also a challenge for one to experience positive change and adjustments to life with God.  Personal conflict could instead provide direction of really learning how to solve problems and gain spiritual benefit of knowing what God is revealing to that person through the difficulties.  We sometimes don’t understand how God can use painful experiences to shape and mold us for the betterment of our character.   Instead, some use pleasure to overcome the heartaches, (along with guilt from the conviction of the Spirit) hoping to bypass the pain but yet it only makes it worse than better.  When a person fails not only themselves and now God as a believer, positive outcome is replaced with greater personal degradation and the decline of the person’s character.   Because of this feeling and overwhelming emotion, people stop giving their all and go back to the addictions to relieve them from this ongoing conflict or as we call it, spiritual warfare.  However, once a person who once gave their life to God now cannot be relieved by these substitutes and find themselves even more lonely and stressed in a repeat cycle.

find true happiness with JesusHow can all this be solved?  There is no high like the most High!  No drug or substitute can compare to knowing and experiencing this ecstatic state.  My name is Melissa and I am an addict of Jesus Christ.  It is my lifestyle, it is my habits, and it is my daily activity to have a relationship with the Almighty.  I do not view God as a safe haven only during times of stress or as a source of doing good in religion.  I see Him as my love, in which I live with, talk to and walk beside.  I am confidant in which He resides in me, with me and goes everywhere I go.  I believe He speaks through me and my hands are His hands working to produce fruit.  It is through selling out to Him that helps me deal with relationships, conquers my fear, anxieties or worries, and erases all pain of the past.  It is through His Spirit that pushes me beyond my limitations as a human with failures.  He forgives and never holds grudges or belittles me.   It is through His daily guidance and wisdom in which helps me solve problems and situations I may face.  It is Him that I can live with excitement in knowing there is nothing impossible He cannot do.  He gives me strength to face all circumstances in life, the power and victory to overcome and live a life of abundance full of peace and joy!

Greatest Addiction for lifeI call all of those who have never tried this type of addiction.  It will never run out or give you a false sense of fulfillment.  It will never leave you with a hangover, in bondage to fear or broken.  It will however make you hungry for more and empower you with miracle working abilities to walk in the Spirit victorious.

Prayer:  Lord, even when I fail, You are there ready to forgive because your grace and mercy endures forever.  I thank you for walking and living with me, for your love you bestow upon me.  I am proud to be a believer full of your spirit and power.  Help me to help others find this favor.  Nothing can replace you!  In Jesus Name  amen.

John 16:33  “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” NIV

I John 5:4  …for everyone born of God overcomes the world. This is the victory that has overcome the world, even our faith.

Luke 19:10  For the Son of Man came to seek and to save what was lost.

John 8:51  I tell you the truth, if anyone keeps my word, he will never see death.

Galatians 6:8  The one who sows to please his sinful nature, from that nature will reap destruction; the one who sows to please the Spirit, from the Spirit will reap eternal life.

1 thought on “Hello, My Name is …. and I Am An Addict”

Leave a Reply

