Abundant life, Leadership, Love and Life of a Testimony

Where is the Warning Sign

I am losing my mind!Doesn’t life sometimes drive you crazy?  It always seems when things seem to be going well, then BAM!  A mountain of junk that’s been piling up in the closet hidden just falls right out of the sky and lands directly on you.  Where was the warning sign when you needed it the most.  Do I want to freak out?  Yes I do, and when I was younger I wanted to go and just settle the matter with my mouth or with physical action.  I have learned to somewhat control my attitude and actions as I grow older, not perfect but hopefully working toward what Jesus would do and live a balanced lifestyle.  The trouble with going and spouting off at the mouth not only hurts ourselves but others in the process and it does no one any good plus creates barriers of intimacy.warning, piles of junk will fall on your head

How does one concentrate on being positive or redirect their thinking in any situation?  My husband and I were discussing issues this morning pertaining to some family members.  Although nothing surprises me anymore about hidden sin in people’s lives, it doesn’t make it any better when it is exposed.  I seem to want to scream at them and tell them, “How stupid you are, because sin will always find you out or you can’t be blessed by doing that!”   Sometimes I feel as though I can ignore it and maybe it will go away.  I think many parents do this simply because they just don’t know what to do, so when confronted with an issue they simply don’t want to believe it.  It is life, people make choices and the fact is we can’t control other people and God will not control any one or over ride their will.  It gets very frustrating when things are out of our control.  Whether it is sickness, dealing with friends or family or exposed sin.  It can become a stronghold, make us lose our focus and zap energy, not to mention have an impact on our own relationship with God. We must guard our heart to avoid thoughts to consume us or drive us toward performing your ritualistic compulsions.

Here are a few tips on how to concentrate on keeping your cool in any situation.  Upon first hearing something or experiencing something negative we must realize we all are human and humans fail and are not perfect.  We shouldn’t always judge or the saying goes, “when you point your finger at someone else, there are four pointing back to you.”  I have found if I say “I would never do that”, there will come a time when that very temptation comes your way and there is always a possibility you will do the exact same thing if put in that situation.  Another thing I also learned is to say, “My child will never do that or act the way that child acts…”  The funny thing about it, you reap what you sow, and yes if you talk about another child, your child will be the first to prove you wrong.  The second tip is realize it is not all that bad and things could be worse.  We must learn to be thankful in all situations, good and bad.  The third thing is as we go through life on a daily basis, we must re-evaluate the situation and try not to think negative or ask ourselves why or even blame ourselves for what happened.  If we redirect our energy into positive thinking then we will understand this takes time to change our thought pattern and we will notice our outlook on life improves.

Redirect thinking with renewing the mindAs you begin to redirect your thoughts away from dwelling on the negative you will find more positive reassurances to help sooth your mind.  It doesn’t mean you won’t be able to do this all the time because it is a working process to redirect your thinking.  You can pray, read, go shopping or on a walk but the important think is when you get bombarded by life issues redirect your thoughts into the positive and realize it is only a season in which will make you strong and more dependent on God.  Sometimes I need a hard hat or wading boots to get through the day, but I am prepared to stick through it without giving up.

Prayer:  Through all of life’s turmoil, Lord you direct my steps to make me strong.  Thank you for all that we go through, the good, the bad and the ugly.  It is through times of weakness and struggles that make us depend on you.  Help us to refocus our thinking into your ways with grace and mercy.  Let the struggles of life not create strongholds in my life nor bring harm to others with my actions.  In Jesus name.  Amen

Romans 12:2  Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will.

Leave a Reply

