Abundant life, Encouragement, faith, Love and Life of a Testimony, Patience

Silence is Golden

reflecting on GodThis past week, I didn’t write a single blog.  It has been good for me to catch this break of rest.  It is not that I didn’t think about readers like yourself, but when the doctor says do nothing, I took it to heart.  These last four weeks has been a nightmare because I slow down for nothing.  We are not a sick people and when we are sick or feeling a little down, we push ourselves through until we are over it.  I don’t know if it is age, or if God was saying, slow down and rest.  Who would have known bronchitis, asthma, flu and then finally pneumonia would be diagnosed over my ailing body.  However, besides being short of breath I am returning to the computer.  I sit here this morning and the house is silent.  I look out my window into my back yard and everything is still and silent.  I think there must be a storm brewing.  Nevertheless, I have enjoyed the silence of resting.

I love silence.  Sometimes while driving or just sitting on my back porch, no music, no TV, no voices of the children, their games or my husband.  I enjoy being completely engulfed in silence.  Am I weird?  Maybe not when I take time to think only of Him and His goodness.  I don’t question why, but smile and know God is up to something wonderful in His plans.

I reflect on David’s life today.  His very soul waited for God many times and he encouraged himself to continue to have hope no matter what the circumstances were around him.  He didn’t always wait in silence but in this particular Scripture he does.  He waited for the answer to come from God.  This sometimes is very hard to do because when you are hurt or in pain, you want answers and you want others to tell you how to come out of it.  He acknowledges that his only hope is from God and we all must come to that realization.  There are those who can counsel, who can pastor, who can minister and give you a Word from God, but it usually comes down to having faith in the One who is your hope.  We can all encourage one another and give suggestions for life’s turmoil but it still comes down to the individual and them responding to the call of God and relying, trusting in what His plans are for you.  God provides the rock, the stabelization, the rest, the firm foundation from this messy world of life.  Being planted firm in His hands brings salvation along with comfort.  In this place of refuge, nothing can move us in the relationship we have with God.  Not sickness, nor death, nor turmoil, no family problems, no disobedient children, no fighting, no battles, no job or work, no money, and the list continues will keep us from Him loving us.  

Walk in silence with God, learn to trustI challenge you today, if you are struggling with anything today, be encouraged.  Take time to find this silence.  Take a walk or go for a drive, be alone with Him and breath in His Spirit of glory rest.  He is your strength and He is your refuge.  You must trust in Him with an open heart.  Stand firm on the foundation that will never fall, the foundation of Jesus Christ.  His arms are open and longs to hold you.  Enjoy the silence of His presence.   

Prayer:  Father I thank you for Your Spirit to move upon everyone today that may be having trouble finding your rest or trusting in You.  I pray You will show them the answers to their needs, wants, hopes or desires. As they take time to spend a silent time with you, let your arms wrap around them and give them peace and encouragement.  In Jesus name.  Amen.

Psalm 62 5-8 My soul, wait in silence for God only, For my hope is from Him.  He only is my rock and my salvation, My stronghold; I shall not be shaken.On God my salvation and my glory rest; The rock of my strength, my refuge is in God.  Trust in Him at all times, O people; Pour out your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us. Selah.

Leave a Reply

